-1.7% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£155/mo
You top up £155/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-7% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-1.7%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£79K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £230KCash to buy £92KReturn before costson price6.62%5-yr return on cash -4%Rent est. £1,269 (£1,023–£1,574)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,023–£1,574/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £57,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £172,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£15,228
£5,287
£11,213
£0
£0
-£1,272
-£1,272
Year 2
£15,685
£5,446
£11,213
£0
£0
-£973
-£2,245
Year 3
£16,155
£5,609
£11,213
£0
£0
-£666
-£2,911
Year 4
£16,640
£5,777
£11,213
£0
£0
-£350
-£3,261
Year 5
£17,139
£5,951
£11,213
£0
£0
-£24
-£3,285
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£12,821
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£247,590
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
51065 ok · 1 caution · 0 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain43% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Selective scheme — 103 designated areas (~29k properties)
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingD
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band D
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
FAIL
Upgrade to C
estimated cost
£3k–£7k
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Refurb & refinance wins — -£145/mo · £10/mo ahead of Rent it out
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
6.62%
-£155
£92,361
-3.6%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
2.47%
-£830
£92,361
-51.0%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
2.47%
-£720
£92,361
-45.9%
Low
Feasible
⭐ Refurb & refinance
6.62%
-£145
£109,905
-2.4%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£232
£266,455
4%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
8.12%
-£533
£92,361
-24.7%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£164/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
12.52% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.62% as-is
🔓 +2 bedrooms potential
medium confidence
3 → 5 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 6 habitable rooms (3 beds + 3 reception(s)); convert 2 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 5 lettable rooms (incl. the garage — convertible to a bedroom or the communal area); sized to County Durham adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Durham CC Standards for Shared Houses (Category B)); loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); mandatory HMO licence (5+ persons, England); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 5 bed HMO+2 singles
HMO licence
✓Sized to County Durham's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£72
Return before costson price6.62%
Cash needed£69,398
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£93
Return before costson price12.52%
Cash needed£85,398
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£164
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,000
Range: £42,000 – £56,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 43% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
£51,300–£92,715full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,820–£17,640
1 × bathroom£5,850–£10,725
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£7,920–£12,870
Flooring£11,880–£20,790
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 15.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Citywide Article 4 (County Durham)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Schools & catchment4 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first4 of 5
Elemore Hall School
Not applicable · Community special school · DH6 1QD
Good
Ludworth Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1LZ
Not rated
Pittington Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1AF
Not rated
Sherburn Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1DU
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,857/yr kept
Annual gross rent£15,228
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,857
Exit costs
-£3,285 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£253,939
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£23,939
Sale costs (~2.5%)£6,348
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£92,361
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Venture Properties are delighted to offer for sale with no chain, this three bedroom detached family home situated in a cul de sac position within the highly regarded location of Priors Grange. Occupying a generous plot with ample off street parking and lots of potential to further extend if required, the property has many appealing features and must be viewed to be appreciated.
This spacious floor plan which has a ground floor extension to the front comprises of an entrance…
Priced below market -7% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Chain free
Price
£230K
7% below sold comps
Return before costs
6.62%
est rent £1,269/monot enough comparablesRange £1,023–£1,574/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,023–£1,574/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £57,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £172,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£15,228
£5,287
£11,213
£0
£0
-£1,272
-£1,272
Year 2
£15,685
£5,446
£11,213
£0
£0
-£973
-£2,245
Year 3
£16,155
£5,609
£11,213
£0
£0
-£666
-£2,911
Year 4
£16,640
£5,777
£11,213
£0
£0
-£350
-£3,261
Year 5
£17,139
£5,951
£11,213
£0
£0
-£24
-£3,285
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5106
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£3,000–£7,000 to upgrade to CD
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 15.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,243
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£3,285
Acquisition costs
£92K
25% deposit£57,500
Stamp duty£13,600
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,450
Cash needed£92,361
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Venture Properties are delighted to offer for sale with no chain, this three bedroom detached family home situated in a cul de sac position within the highly regarded location of Priors Grange. Occupying a generous plot with ample off street parking and lots of potential to further extend if required, the property has many appealing features and must be viewed to be appreciated.
This spacious floor plan which has a ground floor extension to the front comprises of an entrance…