No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£1/mo
You top up £1/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-13% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
0.3%/yr
Modest annualised return
Cash left in
£63K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £215KCash to buy £87KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room10.20%5-yr return on cash 6%Rent est. £1,383 (£1,324–£1,445)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,324–£1,445/mo · n=22
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £53,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £161,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£16,596
£5,492
£10,481
£0
£118
£504
£504
Year 2
£17,094
£5,657
£10,481
£0
£182
£773
£1,278
Year 3
£17,607
£5,827
£10,481
£0
£247
£1,052
£2,329
Year 4
£18,135
£6,002
£10,481
£0
£314
£1,338
£3,667
Year 5
£18,679
£6,182
£10,481
£0
£383
£1,633
£5,300
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£12,918
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£231,443
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain43% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Selective scheme — 103 designated areas (~29k properties)
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£171,000 in 2021 → £215,000 asking
+25.7%in 5y
2021£171,000+0.6% in 3y
2018£169,995—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent by the room wins — +£678/mo · £671/mo ahead of Refurb & refinance (after room-conversion)
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
7.72%
-£1
£87,336
6.1%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
2.65%
-£769
£87,336
-49.7%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
2.65%
-£659
£87,336
-44.4%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
7.72%
+£7
£104,130
5.6%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£232
£250,405
3%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Rent by the room
6.69% *
+£678
£92,800
—
—
Feasible
* Rent by the room shows net yield on cost for the audited HMO conversion deal (post-conversion, after running costs) — not gross like the other rows. Its 5-yr ROI reads “—” because the audited deal is a year-one snapshot; the HMO conversion panel below shows the cash-back / payback horizon.
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£76/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
13.40% Return before costs on price converted vs 7.72% as-is
£215k → 4-bed HMO @ ~£591/room: £2,471 pcm gross, ~£1,417 pcm net (6.7% net on £254k all-in incl. ~£24k works)
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£7,312/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms · ~6.8% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 5 habitable rooms (3 beds + 2 reception(s)) in 111 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms (1 double, 0 single) (incl. the garage — convertible to a bedroom or the communal area); sized to County Durham adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Durham CC Standards for Shared Houses (Category B)); adds ~£609/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 double6.69% net on cost8.76% cash-on-cashuplift 5.43% → 6.85%
✓Sized to County Durham's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
3× Double @ £609/mo
≈ £1,828/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit+£65
Return before costson price7.72%
Cash needed£65,648
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£140
Return before costson price13.40%
Cash needed£81,648
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£76
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit+£162
Return before costson price13.60%
Cash needed£91,648
Extra rent+£609/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£44,000
Range: £38,000 – £52,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 43% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
£57,150–£103,440full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,820–£17,640
2 × bathroom£11,700–£21,450
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£7,920–£12,870
Flooring£11,880–£20,790
Based on 312 HMO comps within 4.4 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 15.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Citywide Article 4 (County Durham)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Schools & catchment4 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first4 of 5
Elemore Hall School
Not applicable · Community special school · DH6 1QD
Good
Ludworth Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1LZ
Not rated
Pittington Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1AF
Not rated
Sherburn Primary School
Primary · Community school · DH6 1DU
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£134/yr kept
Annual gross rent£16,596
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£118
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£134
Exit costs
£5,300 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£237,377
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£22,377
Sale costs (~2.5%)£5,934
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£87,336
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Stylish Three-Bedroom Detached Home with Panoramic Countryside Views
Set within a sought-after modern cul-de-sac development in the village of Sherburn Hill, approximately 4.5 miles from Durham City, this impressive three-bedroom detached family home offers an exceptional blend of space, style, and scenery.
Occupying a prime position, the property enjoys stunning open views to the rear across rolling farmland, with bi-folding doors perfectly framing the landscape and extend…
Priced below market -13% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
7.72% Return before costs — above-market
10.2% Rent by the roomReturn before costs — conversion play
Price
£215K
13% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
10.20%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,324–£1,445/mo · n=22
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £53,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £161,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£16,596
£5,492
£10,481
£0
£118
£504
£504
Year 2
£17,094
£5,657
£10,481
£0
£182
£773
£1,278
Year 3
£17,607
£5,827
£10,481
£0
£247
£1,052
£2,329
Year 4
£18,135
£6,002
£10,481
£0
£314
£1,338
£3,667
Year 5
£18,679
£6,182
£10,481
£0
£383
£1,633
£5,300
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,828
Gross Rent by the room yield10.20%
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 15.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,096
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£5,300
Acquisition costs
£87K
25% deposit£53,750
Stamp duty£12,550
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,225
Cash needed£87,336
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Stylish Three-Bedroom Detached Home with Panoramic Countryside Views
Set within a sought-after modern cul-de-sac development in the village of Sherburn Hill, approximately 4.5 miles from Durham City, this impressive three-bedroom detached family home offers an exceptional blend of space, style, and scenery.
Occupying a prime position, the property enjoys stunning open views to the rear across rolling farmland, with bi-folding doors perfectly framing the landscape and extend…