-2.0% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£166/mo
You top up £166/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+14% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-2.0%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£86K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £210KReturn before costson price6.17%5-yr return on cash -6%Rent est. £1,079 (£945–£1,232)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £945–£1,232/mo · n=12
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £52,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £157,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£121,000 in 2008 → £210,000 asking
+73.6%in 18y
2008£121,000+23.5% in 2y
2006£98,000+98.0% in 7y
1999£49,500+11.2% in 1y
1998£44,500—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent it out wins — -£166/mo · level with Refurb & refinance
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
⭐ Rent it out
6.17%
-£166
£85,661
-5.6%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
4.13%
-£504
£85,661
-29.7%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
0.00%
-£1,035
£85,661
-73.3%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
6.17%
-£166
£102,205
-4.7%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£182
£245,055
3%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
10.29%
-£229
£85,661
-2.9%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Shropshire · cap £723/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Shropshire
LHA monthly cap:
£723
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£303/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
13.71% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.17% as-is
🔓 +1 bedroom potential
medium confidence
3 → 4 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 5 habitable rooms (3 beds + 2 reception(s)) in 77 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms; sized to Shropshire adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Shropshire Council houses in multiple occupation licensing pages (fees from 1 April 2026); national minimum bedroom sizes applied as licence conditions (council newsroom, Nov 2018)); loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted)
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 single
✓Sized to Shropshire's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£148
Return before costson price6.17%
Cash needed£64,398
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£156
Return before costson price13.71%
Cash needed£80,398
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£303
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,000
Range: £42,000 – £56,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£48,990–£92,080full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
1 × bathroom£5,700–£10,450
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£6,930–£12,870
Flooring£10,890–£20,790
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 41.8%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 90 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score90 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
St Giles CofE Primary School
Primary · Voluntary controlled school · SY2 5NJ
Good
Crowmoor Primary School
Primary · Academy sponsor led · SY2 5JJ
Inadequate
Severndale Specialist Academy
Not applicable · Academy special converter · SY2 5SH
Not rated
Belvidere Primary School
Primary · Community school · SY2 5YB
Not rated
Wilfred Owen Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · SY2 5SH
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,998/yr kept
Annual gross rent£12,948
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,998
Exit costs
-£4,797 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£231,857
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£21,857
Sale costs (~2.5%)£5,796
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£85,661
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
A well presented and spacious terraced home with good size gardens situated in a highly sought after location on the outskirts of the town centre.
Directions - From Shrewsbury town centre proceed out over the English Bridge and bear right onto the gyratory system, then bear left onto Old Potts Way up to the next roundabout, take the first exit onto Bage Way and follow this through to the next roundabout. Take the third exit onto Crowmere Road, and then take the first right…
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£210K
14% above sold comps
Return before costs
6.17%
est rent £1,079/monot enough comparablesRange £945–£1,232/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £945–£1,232/mo · n=12
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £52,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £157,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Shropshire · cap £723/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Shropshire
LHA monthly cap:
£723
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£12,948
£4,210
£10,238
£0
£0
-£1,500
-£1,500
Year 2
£13,336
£4,337
£10,238
£0
£0
-£1,238
-£2,737
Year 3
£13,737
£4,467
£10,238
£0
£0
-£968
-£3,705
Year 4
£14,149
£4,601
£10,238
£0
£0
-£689
-£4,394
Year 5
£14,573
£4,739
£10,238
£0
£0
-£403
-£4,797
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5106
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£3,000–£7,000 to upgrade to CD
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 41.8%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,048
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£4,797
Acquisition costs
£86K
25% deposit£52,500
Stamp duty£12,200
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,150
Cash needed£85,661
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
A well presented and spacious terraced home with good size gardens situated in a highly sought after location on the outskirts of the town centre.
Directions - From Shrewsbury town centre proceed out over the English Bridge and bear right onto the gyratory system, then bear left onto Old Potts Way up to the next roundabout, take the first exit onto Bage Way and follow this through to the next roundabout. Take the third exit onto Crowmere Road, and then take the first right…