-1.0% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£176/mo
You top up £176/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+120% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-1.0%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£334K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £720KReturn before costson price6.10%5-yr return on cash 2%Rent est. £3,658 (£2,830–£4,728)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,830–£4,728/mo · n=22
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £180,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£58,227–£108,690 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £540,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£43,896
£9,218
£35,100
£0
£0
-£422
-£422
Year 2
£45,213
£9,494
£35,100
£0
£118
£500
£79
Year 3
£46,569
£9,779
£35,100
£0
£321
£1,369
£1,448
Year 4
£47,966
£10,073
£35,100
£0
£531
£2,263
£3,710
Year 5
£49,405
£10,375
£35,100
£0
£747
£3,184
£6,894
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£87,471
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£775,065
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable94% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 94% (349 decisions)
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
What we like
Let’s start with Dowding Road. It’s an attractive mix of detached and semi-detached mid-20th-century houses, evenly spaced along the road within sight of the local church and just a short walk down the hill to the village centre. Number 12 occupies a larger than average co…
6.10% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£176/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£720K
120% above sold comps
Return before costs
6.10%
est rent £3,658/monot enough comparablesRange £2,830–£4,728/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
4
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,830–£4,728/mo · n=22
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £180,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£58,227–£108,690 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £540,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
What we like
Let’s start with Dowding Road. It’s an attractive mix of detached and semi-detached mid-20th-century houses, evenly spaced along the road within sight of the local church and just a short walk down the hill to the village centre. Number 12 occupies a larger than average co…