-0.9% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£86/mo
You top up £86/mo
Price
£425K
Around comparable sold prices
Return · IRR
-0.9%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£168K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price6.47%5-yr return on cash 3%Rent est. £2,292 (£2,199–£2,389)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,199–£2,389/mo · n=29
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £106,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £318,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£84,950 in 1997 → £425,000 asking
+400.3%in 29y
1997£84,950—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent it out wins — -£86/mo · level with Refurb & refinance
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
⭐ Rent it out
6.47%
-£86
£167,733
3.2%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
4.93%
-£640
£167,733
-15.4%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
4.93%
-£454
£167,733
-13.4%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
6.47%
-£86
£196,766
2.7%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£211
£486,891
5%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
8.41%
-£482
£167,733
-5.7%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Crawley & Reigate · cap £1,745/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Crawley & Reigate
LHA monthly cap:
£1,745
Scheme type:
other
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
-£644/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
6.78% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.47% as-is
🔓 +1 bedroom potential
medium confidence
4 → 5 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 7 habitable rooms (4 beds + 3 reception(s)) in 75 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 5 lettable rooms (0 double, 1 single); sized to Crawley adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Standards for Houses in Multiple Occupation, Crawley Borough Council (effective June 2019)); loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); mandatory HMO licence (5+ persons, England)
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
4 → 5 bed HMO+1 single
HMO licence
✓Sized to Crawley's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£3
Return before costson price6.47%
Cash needed£118,148
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£647
Return before costson price6.78%
Cash needed£134,148
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£644
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£30,000
Range: £24,000 – £38,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£55,290–£103,780full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
1 × bathroom£5,700–£10,450
Rewire£4,680–£8,190
Replumb£3,510–£7,020
Windows£11,700–£21,060
Paint + decor£8,190–£15,210
Flooring£12,870–£24,570
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 16.5%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Brook Infant School and Nursery
Primary · Community school · RH10 7JE
Good
Maidenbower Infant School and Nursery
Primary · Community school · RH10 7RA
Not rated
Maidenbower Junior School
Primary · Community school · RH10 7RA
Not rated
Pound Hill Infant Academy
Primary · Academy converter · RH10 7EB
Not rated
Pound Hill Junior School, Crawley
Primary · Community school · RH10 7EB
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,038/yr kept
Annual gross rent£27,504
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£5
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,038
Exit costs
£5,294 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£469,234
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£44,234
Sale costs (~2.5%)£11,731
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£167,733
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Nestled in the charming area of Spring Plat, Pound Hill, Crawley, this delightful semi-detached house offers a wonderful opportunity for families and individuals alike. With four spacious bedrooms, this property provides ample room for comfortable living. The two reception rooms are perfect for entertaining guests or enjoying quiet family evenings, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.
One of the standout features of this home is its generous corner plot garden, which pre…
6.47% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£86/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£425K
at sold-comp median
Return before costs
6.47%
est rent £2,292/monot enough comparablesRange £2,199–£2,389/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
4
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,199–£2,389/mo · n=29
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £106,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £318,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Crawley & Reigate · cap £1,745/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Crawley & Reigate
LHA monthly cap:
£1,745
Scheme type:
other
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£27,504
£6,761
£20,719
£0
£5
£20
£20
Year 2
£28,329
£6,963
£20,719
£0
£123
£524
£544
Year 3
£29,179
£7,172
£20,719
£0
£245
£1,043
£1,587
Year 4
£30,054
£7,387
£20,719
£0
£370
£1,578
£3,165
Year 5
£30,956
£7,609
£20,719
£0
£499
£2,129
£5,294
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 16.5%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,144
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£5,294
Acquisition costs
£168K
25% deposit£106,250
Stamp duty£32,500
Refurb£19,458
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,375
Cash needed£167,733
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Nestled in the charming area of Spring Plat, Pound Hill, Crawley, this delightful semi-detached house offers a wonderful opportunity for families and individuals alike. With four spacious bedrooms, this property provides ample room for comfortable living. The two reception rooms are perfect for entertaining guests or enjoying quiet family evenings, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.
One of the standout features of this home is its generous corner plot garden, which pre…