6.22% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£249/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-1.9% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£249/mo
You top up £249/mo
Price
£465K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-1.9%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£186K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room6.22%5-yr return on cash -2%Rent est. £2,361 (£2,088–£2,670)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,088–£2,670/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £116,249
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,630–£32,908 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £348,746.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£28,332
£7,562
£22,669
£0
£0
-£1,899
-£1,899
Year 2
£29,182
£7,789
£22,669
£0
£0
-£1,276
-£3,175
Year 3
£30,057
£8,023
£22,669
£0
£0
-£634
-£3,808
Year 4
£30,959
£8,264
£22,669
£0
£5
£22
-£3,786
Year 5
£31,888
£8,511
£22,669
£0
£135
£573
-£3,213
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£26,594
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£500,557
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
30093 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 9 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdUnknownTenure & planningUnknown
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable67% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 66% (757 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£186,380
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
CHAIN FREE THREE-BEDROOM DETACHED HOME - PRIME LOCATION - Quick Sale Required
IC Property are pleased to present this well-positioned, chain-free three-bedroom detached ex-school caretaker's house, ideally located next to Enfield County School for Girls. Offering excellent potential and a highly desirable location, this property is likely to appeal to families, first-time buyers and investors alike.
The property comprises a spacious reception room with dual-aspect windows…
6.22%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Chain free
Price
£465K
Return before costs (best)
6.22%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,088–£2,670/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £116,249
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,630–£32,908 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £348,746.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context291 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
291 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Outer North London · cap £1,690/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Outer North London
LHA monthly cap:
£1,690
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+500% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£28,332
£7,562
£22,669
£0
£0
-£1,899
-£1,899
Year 2
£29,182
£7,789
£22,669
£0
£0
-£1,276
-£3,175
Year 3
£30,057
£8,023
£22,669
£0
£0
-£634
-£3,808
Year 4
£30,959
£8,264
£22,669
£0
£5
£22
-£3,786
Year 5
£31,888
£8,511
£22,669
£0
£135
£573
-£3,213
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£2,412
Gross Rent by the room yield6.22%
What we verified
12 total
4008
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeUnknown
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
No data — insufficient comparablesLow confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,534
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£3,213
Acquisition costs
£186K
25% deposit£116,249
Stamp duty£36,500
Refurb£23,506
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,975
Cash needed£186,380
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
CHAIN FREE THREE-BEDROOM DETACHED HOME - PRIME LOCATION - Quick Sale Required
IC Property are pleased to present this well-positioned, chain-free three-bedroom detached ex-school caretaker's house, ideally located next to Enfield County School for Girls. Offering excellent potential and a highly desirable location, this property is likely to appeal to families, first-time buyers and investors alike.
The property comprises a spacious reception room with dual-aspect windows…