9.42% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Priced below market -17% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo) — instant equity
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£344/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-4.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£344/mo
You top up £344/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-17% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-4.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£56K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £220KCash to buy £89KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room9.42%5-yr return on cash -18%Rent est. £982 (£771–£1,251)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £771–£1,251/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£11,784
£4,735
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,676
-£3,676
Year 2
£12,138
£4,877
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,464
-£7,140
Year 3
£12,502
£5,023
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,246
-£10,386
Year 4
£12,877
£5,174
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,022
-£13,408
Year 5
£13,263
£5,329
£10,725
£0
£0
-£2,791
-£16,199
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£12,886
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£236,825
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain43% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Selective scheme — 103 designated areas (~29k properties)
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£219,995 in 2025 → £220,000 asking
0.0%in 1y
2025£219,995—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Refurb & refinance wins — -£337/mo · £7/mo ahead of Rent it out
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
5.36%
-£344
£89,011
-18.2%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
2.59%
-£789
£89,011
-50.1%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
2.59%
-£680
£89,011
-44.9%
Low
Feasible
⭐ Refurb & refinance
5.36%
-£337
£106,055
-14.9%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£232
£255,755
3%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
9.85%
-£1,022
£115,011
-45.9%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£390/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
13.09% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.36% as-is
🔓 +1 bedroom potential
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£7,224/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms · ~6.6% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 5 habitable rooms (3 beds + 2 reception(s)); convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms (incl. the garage — convertible to a bedroom or the communal area); sized to County Durham adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Durham CC Standards for Shared Houses (Category B)); adds ~£602/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMOuplift 5.36% → 6.63%
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £627/mo1× Single @ £537/mo1× En-suite @ £643/mo
≈ £1,806/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£265
Return before costson price5.36%
Cash needed£66,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£124
Return before costson price13.09%
Cash needed£82,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£390
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit+£129
Return before costson price13.13%
Cash needed£92,898
Extra rent+£602/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£40,000
Range: £34,000 – £48,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 43% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
sparse local HMO decisions (3) — limited history
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
£63,000–£114,165full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,820–£17,640
3 × bathroom£17,550–£32,175
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£7,920–£12,870
Flooring£11,880–£20,790
Based on 285 HMO comps within 7.7 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 24.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Citywide Article 4 (County Durham)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Hunwick Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · DL15 0JX
Good
Our Lady and St Thomas Catholic Primary School, Willington
Primary · Academy converter · DL15 0PB
Good
St Stephen's Church of England Primary School
Primary · Voluntary controlled school · DL15 0QH
Good
The Grange Learning Centre
Not applicable · Other independent special school · DL15 0TY
Not rated
Sunnybrow Primary School
Primary · Community school · DL15 0LT
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£4,129/yr kept
Annual gross rent£11,784
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£4,129
Exit costs
-£16,199 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£242,898
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£22,898
Sale costs (~2.5%)£6,072
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£89,011
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Hawthorn Drive, presents an exceptional opportunity to acquire a beautifully maintained three-bedroom detached residence, occupying an enviable corner plot position within one of the village's newest and most desirable residential developments. Combining contemporary design, practical family living and a detached garage, this is a home perfectly suited to growing families, professional couples and buyers seeking a property that is ready to move straight into and is available…
9.42%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Priced below market -17% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Price
£220K
17% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
9.42%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
3 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £771–£1,251/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Durham · cap £474/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Durham
LHA monthly cap:
£474
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£11,784
£4,735
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,676
-£3,676
Year 2
£12,138
£4,877
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,464
-£7,140
Year 3
£12,502
£5,023
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,246
-£10,386
Year 4
£12,877
£5,174
£10,725
£0
£0
-£3,022
-£13,408
Year 5
£13,263
£5,329
£10,725
£0
£0
-£2,791
-£16,199
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,806
Gross Rent by the room yield9.42%
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 24.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,145
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£16,199
Acquisition costs
£89K
25% deposit£55,000
Stamp duty£12,900
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,300
Cash needed£89,011
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Hawthorn Drive, presents an exceptional opportunity to acquire a beautifully maintained three-bedroom detached residence, occupying an enviable corner plot position within one of the village's newest and most desirable residential developments. Combining contemporary design, practical family living and a detached garage, this is a home perfectly suited to growing families, professional couples and buyers seeking a property that is ready to move straight into and is available…