Monthly profit +£336/mo from completion — the no.1 reason to invest
13.67% return before costs — above-market
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress — lender-friendly
Why to be cautious
Cash only — often signals cladding / short lease / structural
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
+£336/mo
Pays you every month, net of costs
Price
£155K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
4.1%/yr
Modest annualised return
Cash to get in
£127K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price13.67%5-yr return on cash 21%Rent est. £1,766 (£1,610–£1,937)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,610–£1,937/mo · n=105
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £38,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£55,955–£104,448 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £116,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
-£176/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
18.58% Return before costs on price converted vs 13.67% as-is
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit+£506
Return before costson price13.67%
Cash needed£50,648
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£330
Return before costson price18.58%
Cash needed£66,648
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£176
Show conversion detail
Cannot Rent by the room:Only 2 bed — too small for an HMO (3+ unrelated tenants from 2+ households) without major reconfiguration.
Conversion cost estimate
£55,000
Range: £47,500 – £65,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 67% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 50m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 67% (343 decisions)
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
£52,074–£93,000full refurb + room split
⚠️ Capped at 60% of £155,000 asking (£93,000). Raw model: £58,230–£103,995. Verify with a surveyor before offering.
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,853–£17,707
1 × bathroom£6,036–£11,067
Rewire£4,225–£6,761
Replumb£3,380–£5,916
Windows£9,296–£16,057
Paint + decor£8,451–£14,367
Flooring£11,831–£21,127
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Brighton and Hove HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
Schools & catchment2 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first2 of 5
The Montessori Place
Not applicable · Other independent school · BN3 3ER
Not rated
St Andrew's CofE (Aided) Primary School
Primary · Voluntary aided school · BN3 3YT
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
£3,872/yr kept
Annual gross rent£21,192
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£1,100
Post-tax Monthly profitannual£3,872
Exit costs
£26,779 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£171,133
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£16,133
Sale costs (~2.5%)£4,278
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT£26,779
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£127,031cash needed
Purchase price£155,000
Deposit (25%)£38,750
Stamp duty+5% additional-property surcharge£8,350
Refurb£74,606
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage fees£3,325
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£127,031
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Cash Buyers Only! A bright and well-positioned home set close to excellent transport links, popular cafés, shopping facilities and the nearby seafront, offering fantastic potential in a highly sought-after location. Early viewing is advised.
Set within a highly convenient location close to a variety of shops, cafes, restaurants and everyday amenities, this well-positioned home presents an excellent opportunity for cash buyers, investors or buyers looking to add their own per…
Cliftonville Court, Goldstone Villas, Hove, East Sussex
flat · 2 bed · 1 bath
£155,000
est £1,766 · 13.67% gross
Conservation areaCash only
1 / 13
85/100
Strong
Real 13.67% — fundamentals work.
Monthly profit+£336/mo at 25% deposit @ 5.5%
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
13.67% Return before costs — above-market
Price
£155K
Return before costs
13.67%
est rent £1,766/mo105 comps within 1 kmRange £1,610–£1,937/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
2
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
Cash buyers only
Often signals cladding, structural, or short-lease issues
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,610–£1,937/mo · n=105
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £38,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£55,955–£104,448 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £116,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context406 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
406 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Brighton and Hove · cap £1,197/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Brighton and Hove
LHA monthly cap:
£1,197
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+600% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£21,192
£7,848
£7,556
£0
£1,100
£4,687
£4,687
Year 2
£21,828
£8,084
£7,556
£0
£1,176
£5,012
£9,699
Year 3
£22,483
£8,326
£7,556
£0
£1,254
£5,346
£15,045
Year 4
£23,157
£8,576
£7,556
£0
£1,335
£5,690
£20,735
Year 5
£23,852
£8,833
£7,556
£0
£1,418
£6,044
£26,779
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)2 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
3306
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedN/A
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaCA
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily let
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeBelow threshold
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£1,511
Annual rental tax£945
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£26,779
Acquisition costs
£127K
25% deposit£38,750
Stamp duty£8,350
Refurb£74,606
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage + broker£3,325
Cash needed£127,031
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Cash Buyers Only! A bright and well-positioned home set close to excellent transport links, popular cafés, shopping facilities and the nearby seafront, offering fantastic potential in a highly sought-after location. Early viewing is advised.
Set within a highly convenient location close to a variety of shops, cafes, restaurants and everyday amenities, this well-positioned home presents an excellent opportunity for cash buyers, investors or buyers looking to add their own per…