7.18% Guaranteed council rent return before costs — verify the rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
EPC D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Monthly profit −£312/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-2.2% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£312/mo
You top up £312/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+21% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-2.2%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£215K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £525KReturn before costson price · Guaranteed council rent7.18%5-yr return on cash -3%Rent est. £2,493 (£2,374–£2,618)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,374–£2,618/mo · n=34
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £131,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£22,252–£41,537 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £393,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£250,000 in 2011 → £525,000 asking
+110.0%in 15y
2011£250,000+19.0% in 5y
2006£210,000—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent by the room wins — +£568/mo · £534/mo ahead of Council lease (after room-conversion)
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
5.70%
-£312
£215,194
-2.7%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
4.10%
-£991
£215,194
-21.6%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
5.70%
+£34
£215,194
4.0%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
5.70%
-£312
£253,312
-2.3%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
6.27%
-£843
£215,194
-21.0%
High
Feasible
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£194
£611,937
3%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Rent by the room
4.63% *
+£568
£220,634
—
—
Feasible
* Rent by the room shows net yield on cost for the audited HMO conversion deal (post-conversion, after running costs) — not gross like the other rows. Its 5-yr ROI reads “—” because the audited deal is a year-one snapshot; the HMO conversion panel below shows the cash-back / payback horizon.
Short-let (SA) context276 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
276 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Outer North East London · cap £1,795/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Outer North East London
LHA monthly cap:
£1,795
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+500% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
-£808/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
5.49% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.70% as-is
£525k → 6-bed HMO @ ~£704/room: £4,145 pcm gross, ~£2,373 pcm net (4.6% net on £614k all-in incl. ~£44k works); needs +2 bathrooms; GDV ~£407k → refinance releases ~£-89k (~£309k left in)
high confidence
Unlocks ~£18,384/yr extra rent
4 → 6 lettable rooms · ~5.6% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the EPC certificate — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 7 habitable rooms (4 beds + 3 reception(s)) in 127 m²; convert 2 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 6 lettable rooms (1 double, 0 single) (incl. the garage — convertible to a bedroom or the communal area); sized to Redbridge adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Redbridge mandatory HMO licence conditions / guidance on HMO standards); 1 room size(s) not printed on the plan — counted but unverified vs the standard; adds ~£1,532/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); mandatory HMO licence (5+ persons, England)
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
4 → 6 bed HMO+1 double, +1 single4.63% net on cost3.09% cash-on-cashuplift 3.94% → 5.57%
💷 Refinance could release ~-£88,688
HMO licence+2 bathroom needed
✓Sized to Redbridge's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (4 lettable rooms)
2× Double @ £768/mo1× Single @ £568/mo1× En-suite @ £960/mo
≈ £3,064/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£231
Return before costson price5.70%
Cash needed£143,148
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£1,038
Return before costson price5.49%
Cash needed£159,148
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£808
+2 rooms (6 total)
Monthly profit+£445
Return before costson price10.51%
Cash needed£179,148
Extra rent+£1,532/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£42,000
Range: £33,600 – £53,200
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£77,876–£144,969full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£10,440–£20,880
1 × bathroom£7,200–£13,200
Rewire£6,845–£12,321
Replumb£5,476–£10,952
Windows£15,059–£27,380
Paint + decor£13,690–£24,642
Flooring£19,166–£35,594
Based on 3543 HMO comps within 2.7 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 90 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score90 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Loxford School
All-through · Academy converter · IG1 2UT
Outstanding
Winston Way Academy
Primary · Academy converter · IG1 2WS
Good
Woodlands Primary School
Primary · Community school · IG1 2PY
Good
The Constance Bridgeman Centre
Not applicable · Pupil referral unit · IG1 2UT
Not rated
Uphall Primary School
Primary · Community school · IG1 2JD
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£3,741/yr kept
Annual gross rent£29,916
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£3,741
Exit costs
-£5,898 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£579,642
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£54,642
Sale costs (~2.5%)£14,491
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£215,194
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Guide price £550,000 - £575,000 This four-bedroom end of terrace house is for sale in Ilford and offers flexible accommodation across two floors. The ground floor includes a separate reception room to the front and a second separate reception room, providing options for living and dining spaces. There is a kitchen/diner, allowing room for both cooking and everyday meals, and a ground floor WC. On the first floor, the property features a bathroom serving the four bedrooms.
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£525K
21% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
7.18%
Council
Bedrooms
4
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £2,374–£2,618/mo · n=34
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £131,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£22,252–£41,537 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £393,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context276 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
276 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Outer North East London · cap £1,795/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Outer North East London
LHA monthly cap:
£1,795
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+500% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£29,916
£6,913
£25,594
£0
£0
-£2,591
-£2,591
Year 2
£30,813
£7,120
£25,594
£0
£0
-£1,901
-£4,491
Year 3
£31,738
£7,334
£25,594
£0
£0
-£1,190
-£5,681
Year 4
£32,690
£7,554
£25,594
£0
£0
-£458
-£6,139
Year 5
£33,671
£7,781
£25,594
£0
£56
£240
-£5,898
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
Conversion£38,000
If converted
Gross / mo£3,064
Gross Rent by the room yield6.87%
What we verified
12 total
5106
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£3,000–£7,000 to upgrade to CD
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£5,119
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£5,898
Acquisition costs
£215K
25% deposit£131,250
Stamp duty£42,500
Refurb£29,669
Legal + survey£2,900
Mortgage + broker£8,875
Cash needed£215,194
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Guide price £550,000 - £575,000 This four-bedroom end of terrace house is for sale in Ilford and offers flexible accommodation across two floors. The ground floor includes a separate reception room to the front and a second separate reception room, providing options for living and dining spaces. There is a kitchen/diner, allowing room for both cooking and everyday meals, and a ground floor WC. On the first floor, the property features a bathroom serving the four bedrooms.