7.24% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
EPC D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Monthly profit −£259/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-2.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£259/mo
You top up £259/mo
Price
£330K
Around comparable sold prices
Return · IRR
-2.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£129K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room7.24%5-yr return on cash -6%Rent est. £1,586 (£1,466–£1,716)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,466–£1,716/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £82,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £247,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£265,000 in 2020 → £330,000 asking
+24.5%in 6y
2020£265,000+15.2% in 4y
2016£229,950+199.8% in 16y
2000£76,700—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Short-stay let / Airbnb wins — +£836/mo · £593/mo ahead of Rent by the room
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
5.77%
-£259
£128,711
-5.9%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
3.44%
-£840
£128,711
-34.1%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
3.44%
-£640
£128,711
-27.8%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
5.77%
-£259
£151,255
-5.1%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Short-stay let / Airbnb
16.20%
+£836
£128,711
44.7%
High
Feasible
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£199
£376,305
5%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
4.52% *
+£243
£118,071
—
—
Feasible
* Rent by the room shows net yield on cost for the audited HMO conversion deal (post-conversion, after running costs) — not gross like the other rows. Its 5-yr ROI reads “—” because the audited deal is a year-one snapshot; the HMO conversion panel below shows the cash-back / payback horizon.
Short-let (SA) context243 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
243 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Exeter · cap £947/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Exeter
LHA monthly cap:
£947
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
-£71/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
8.73% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.77% as-is
£330k → 4-bed HMO @ ~£617/room: £2,406 pcm gross, ~£1,377 pcm net (4.5% net on £366k all-in incl. ~£10k works)
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£7,964/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms · ~5.2% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
EPC shows 5 habitable rooms (3 beds + 2 reception(s)) in 77 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms; sized to Exeter adopted standard (6.51/11 m²; Standards in HMO's (Exeter City Council amenity/space standards guidance) + HMO Licence Fees 2025/26 (exeter.gov.uk apply page)); adds ~£664/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted)
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 single4.52% net on cost2.47% cash-on-cashuplift 5.77% → 5.15%
✓Sized to Exeter's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £657/mo1× Single @ £572/mo1× En-suite @ £763/mo
≈ £1,991/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£205
Return before costson price5.77%
Cash needed£94,398
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£276
Return before costson price8.73%
Cash needed£110,398
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£71
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit-£92
Return before costson price9.65%
Cash needed£120,398
Extra rent+£664/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,000
Range: £42,000 – £56,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£48,990–£92,080full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
1 × bathroom£5,700–£10,450
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£6,930–£12,870
Flooring£10,890–£20,790
Based on 1526 HMO comps within 1.8 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 23.8%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Torlands Academy
Not applicable · Academy alternative provision converter · EX4 1PT
Good
Barley Lane School
Not applicable · Foundation special school · EX4 1TA
Requires improvement
West Exe Nursery School - Exeter Nursery Schools Federation
Nursery · Local authority nursery school · EX4 1HL
Not rated
Bowhill Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · EX4 1JT
Not rated
Montgomery Primary School
Primary · Foundation school · EX4 1BS
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£3,110/yr kept
Annual gross rent£19,032
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£3,110
Exit costs
-£7,653 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£364,347
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£34,347
Sale costs (~2.5%)£9,109
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
7.24%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£330K
at sold-comp median
Return before costs (best)
7.24%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,466–£1,716/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £82,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £247,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K