-13.9% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£1K/mo
You top up £1K/mo
Price
£220K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-13.9%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£98K
Deposit + fees + refurb
5-yr return on cash -68%
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,854–£33,327 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£0
£2,458
£10,725
£0
£0
-£13,183
-£13,183
Year 2
£0
£2,532
£10,725
£0
£0
-£13,257
-£26,440
Year 3
£0
£2,608
£10,725
£0
£0
-£13,333
-£39,772
Year 4
£0
£2,686
£10,725
£0
£0
-£13,411
-£53,183
Year 5
£0
£2,767
£10,725
£0
£0
-£13,492
-£66,675
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£21,580
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£236,825
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
31083 ok · 1 caution · 0 fail · 8 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdUnknownTenure & planningUnknown
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable96% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 97% (140 decisions)
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingE
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band E
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
FAIL
Upgrade to C
estimated cost
£6k–£12k
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Energy rating E — Min. energy standard blocker by 2030 (~£6,000–£12,000 upgrade)
Price
£220K
Return before costs
—
rent unknown
Bedrooms
5
3 bath
Energy rating
E
MEES (Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards) blocker by 2030 ~£6,000–£12,000 upgrade
Deal flags2 issues
Auction
Guide price — assume +20-30% in the room
EPC E — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,854–£33,327 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K