-14.6% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£12K/mo
You top up £12K/mo
Price
£2.80M
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-14.6%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£1.34M
Deposit + fees + refurb
5-yr return on cash -52%
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £700,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£150,153–£280,286 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £2,400 legal + £1,300 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £2,100,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£0
£2,709
£136,500
£0
£0
-£139,209
-£139,209
Year 2
£0
£2,790
£136,500
£0
£0
-£139,290
-£278,499
Year 3
£0
£2,874
£136,500
£0
£0
-£139,374
-£417,873
Year 4
£0
£2,960
£136,500
£0
£0
-£139,460
-£557,333
Year 5
£0
£3,049
£136,500
£0
£0
-£139,549
-£696,882
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£379,513
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£3,014,141
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
30093 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 9 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdUnknownTenure & planningUnknown
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain50% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 49% (410 decisions)
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Selective: 25 of 69 wards (Aston, Sparkbrook, Ladywood, Edgbaston etc.)
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Bywater House, 70 Harold Road, Birmingham, West Midlands B16
39 bed · 39 bath · 7,491 sqft
£2,800,000
1 / 20
0/100
Marginal
No rent data — verify locally before offering.
Monthly profit −£11,601/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£2.8M
Return before costs
—
rent unknown
Bedrooms
39
39 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
Auction
Guide price — assume +20-30% in the room
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £700,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£150,153–£280,286 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £2,400 legal + £1,300 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £2,100,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee