Priced below market -16% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo) — instant equity
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress — lender-friendly
Why to be cautious
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
+£85/mo
Barely breaks even each month
Price vs market
Below market value
-16% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
2.7%/yr
Modest annualised return
Cash left in
£30K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £72KCash to buy £40KReturn before costson price11.85%5-yr return on cash 19%Rent est. £711 (£656–£771)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £656–£771/mo · n=61
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £18,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £54,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£8,532
£3,441
£3,510
£0
£300
£1,281
£1,281
Year 2
£8,788
£3,544
£3,510
£0
£329
£1,405
£2,686
Year 3
£9,052
£3,650
£3,510
£0
£359
£1,532
£4,218
Year 4
£9,323
£3,760
£3,510
£0
£390
£1,663
£5,882
Year 5
£9,603
£3,873
£3,510
£0
£422
£1,798
£7,680
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£14,905
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£77,506
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable64% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 63% (16 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Council lease wins — +£112/mo · £27/mo ahead of Rent it out
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
11.85%
+£85
£40,491
19.0%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
9.15%
-£65
£40,491
-1.0%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Council lease
11.85%
+£112
£40,491
19.7%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
11.85%
+£85
£50,135
15.3%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£174
£98,455
-12%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
20.50%
-£20
£40,491
11.7%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Teesside · cap £549/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Teesside
LHA monthly cap:
£549
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£517/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
40.00% Return before costs on price converted vs 11.85% as-is
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit+£75
Return before costson price11.85%
Cash needed£29,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£592
Return before costson price40.00%
Cash needed£45,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£517
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£43,200
Range: £36,720 – £49,680
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 64% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 63% (16 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£23,903–£43,200full refurb + room split
⚠️ Capped at 60% of £72,000 asking (£43,200). Raw model: £51,300–£92,715. Verify with a surveyor before offering.
What's in this cost
Kitchen£4,110–£8,219
1 × bathroom£2,726–£4,997
Rewire£1,845–£3,229
Replumb£1,384–£2,768
Windows£4,613–£8,303
Paint + decor£3,690–£5,997
Flooring£5,535–£9,687
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Middlesbrough City-wide HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment4 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first4 of 5
Park End Primary School
Primary · Community school · TS3 0AA
Good
Outwood Academy Ormesby
Secondary · Academy converter · TS3 0RH
Good
Priory Woods School
Not applicable · Community special school · TS3 0RH
Not rated
Pennyman Primary Academy
Primary · Academy converter · TS3 0QS
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
£953/yr kept
Annual gross rent£8,532
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£300
Post-tax Monthly profitannual£953
Exit costs
£7,680 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£79,494
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£7,494
Sale costs (~2.5%)£1,987
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT£7,680
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£40,491cash needed
Purchase price£72,000
Deposit (25%)£18,000
Stamp duty+5% additional-property surcharge£3,600
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage fees£2,080
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£40,491
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Summary
A fantastic investment opportunity offering spacious accommodation and excellent potential.
Description
A fantastic investment opportunity offering spacious accommodation and excellent potential. The ground floor comprises a comfortable lounge and a generous kitchen/diner, providing plenty of space for everyday living. To the first floor are three well-proportioned bedrooms and a family bathroom.
Externally, the property benefits from gardens to both the front and r…
Priced below market -16% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
11.85% Return before costs — above-market
Price
£72K
16% below sold comps
Return before costs
11.85%
est rent £711/monot enough comparablesRange £656–£771/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £656–£771/mo · n=61
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £18,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £54,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Teesside · cap £549/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Teesside
LHA monthly cap:
£549
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£8,532
£3,441
£3,510
£0
£300
£1,281
£1,281
Year 2
£8,788
£3,544
£3,510
£0
£329
£1,405
£2,686
Year 3
£9,052
£3,650
£3,510
£0
£359
£1,532
£4,218
Year 4
£9,323
£3,760
£3,510
£0
£390
£1,663
£5,882
Year 5
£9,603
£3,873
£3,510
£0
£422
£1,798
£7,680
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£702
Annual rental tax£238
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£7,680
Acquisition costs
£40K
25% deposit£18,000
Stamp duty£3,600
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£2,080
Cash needed£40,491
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Summary
A fantastic investment opportunity offering spacious accommodation and excellent potential.
Description
A fantastic investment opportunity offering spacious accommodation and excellent potential. The ground floor comprises a comfortable lounge and a generous kitchen/diner, providing plenty of space for everyday living. To the first floor are three well-proportioned bedrooms and a family bathroom.
Externally, the property benefits from gardens to both the front and r…