-6.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£817/mo
You top up £817/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+20% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-6.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£166K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £414KReturn before costson price3.99%5-yr return on cash -26%Rent est. £1,376 (£1,278–£1,482)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,278–£1,482/mo · n=13
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £103,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£16,215–£30,268 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £310,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsCADW register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Council lease wins — -£619/mo · £198/mo ahead of Rent it out
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
3.99%
-£817
£166,180
-25.5%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
2.54%
-£1,279
£166,180
-42.7%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Council lease
3.99%
-£619
£166,180
-20.0%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
3.99%
-£817
£195,528
-21.7%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£244
£478,118
4%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
6.72%
-£924
£166,180
-24.7%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Newport · cap £878/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Newport
LHA monthly cap:
£878
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+900% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£99/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
6.96% Return before costs on price converted vs 3.99% as-is
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£703
Return before costson price3.99%
Cash needed£115,398
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£604
Return before costson price6.96%
Cash needed£131,398
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£99
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£27,300
Range: £21,000 – £35,700
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£64,290–£118,390full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£9,000–£18,000
2 × bathroom£12,000–£22,000
Rewire£4,680–£8,190
Replumb£3,510–£7,020
Windows£11,700–£21,060
Paint + decor£9,360–£16,380
Flooring£14,040–£25,740
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 20.8%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 10 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score10 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment3 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first3 of 5
Glan Llyn Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · NP19 4EB
Not rated
Lliswerry High School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · NP19 4RP
Not rated
Lliswerry Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · NP19 4NG
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£9,800/yr kept
Annual gross rent£16,512
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£9,800
Exit costs
-£42,418 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£457,089
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£43,089
Sale costs (~2.5%)£11,427
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£42,418
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£166,180cash needed
Purchase price£414,000
Deposit (25%)£103,500
Stamp duty+4% higher-rate surcharge£31,700
Refurb£21,620
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage fees£7,210
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£166,180
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
A bay window brings light flooding into the lounge, the practical family kitchen has a separate laundry, and French doors make the dining area especially inviting. The bathroom and four bedrooms, one of them en-suite, are reached via a landing with a generously sized storage cupboard.
Plot 88
Tenure: Freehold
Length of lease: N/A
Annual ground rent amount (£): N/A
Ground rent review period (year/month): N/A
Annual service charge amount (£): 435.96
Service charge review peri…
3.99% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£817/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£414K
20% above sold comps
Return before costs
3.99%
est rent £1,376/monot enough comparablesRange £1,278–£1,482/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
4
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,278–£1,482/mo · n=13
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £103,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£16,215–£30,268 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £310,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Newport · cap £878/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Newport
LHA monthly cap:
£878
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+900% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£16,512
£5,494
£20,183
£0
£0
-£9,165
-£9,165
Year 2
£17,007
£5,659
£20,183
£0
£0
-£8,834
-£17,999
Year 3
£17,518
£5,829
£20,183
£0
£0
-£8,494
-£26,493
Year 4
£18,043
£6,004
£20,183
£0
£0
-£8,143
-£34,636
Year 5
£18,584
£6,184
£20,183
£0
£0
-£7,782
-£42,418
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 20.8%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 10/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,037
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£42,418
Acquisition costs
£166K
25% deposit£103,500
Stamp duty£31,700
Refurb£21,620
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,210
Cash needed£166,180
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
A bay window brings light flooding into the lounge, the practical family kitchen has a separate laundry, and French doors make the dining area especially inviting. The bathroom and four bedrooms, one of them en-suite, are reached via a landing with a generously sized storage cupboard.
Plot 88
Tenure: Freehold
Length of lease: N/A
Annual ground rent amount (£): N/A
Ground rent review period (year/month): N/A
Annual service charge amount (£): 435.96
Service charge review peri…