-4.8% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£613/mo
You top up £613/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+3% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-4.8%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£173K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £440KReturn before costson price4.79%5-yr return on cash -16%Rent est. £1,757 (£1,704–£1,812)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,704–£1,812/mo · n=13
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £109,999
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £329,996.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£21,084
£6,180
£21,450
£0
£0
-£6,546
-£6,546
Year 2
£21,717
£6,366
£21,450
£0
£0
-£6,099
-£12,645
Year 3
£22,368
£6,556
£21,450
£0
£0
-£5,638
-£18,283
Year 4
£23,039
£6,753
£21,450
£0
£0
-£5,164
-£23,447
Year 5
£23,730
£6,956
£21,450
£0
£0
-£4,675
-£28,122
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£21,958
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£473,645
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
41074 ok · 1 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable83% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 50m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 83% (446 decisions)
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£173,207
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Move in before Christmas + £21,999 Deposit Contribution, Amtico & carpet flooring, internal appliances and turf all included alongside a Christmas Package!* : The Juniper - Home 534
Don't miss your opportunity to secure this beautifully designed family home at The Atrium. Available with £10,949 Stamp Duty Paid and benefiting from a garage and driveway parking, The Juniper combines traditional character with stylish, modern living.
4.79% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£613/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£440K
3% above sold comps
Return before costs
4.79%
est rent £1,757/monot enough comparablesRange £1,704–£1,812/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
4
— bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,704–£1,812/mo · n=13
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £109,999
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £329,996.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Northampton · cap £1,157/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Northampton
LHA monthly cap:
£1,157
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£21,084
£6,180
£21,450
£0
£0
-£6,546
-£6,546
Year 2
£21,717
£6,366
£21,450
£0
£0
-£6,099
-£12,645
Year 3
£22,368
£6,556
£21,450
£0
£0
-£5,638
-£18,283
Year 4
£23,039
£6,753
£21,450
£0
£0
-£5,164
-£23,447
Year 5
£23,730
£6,956
£21,450
£0
£0
-£4,675
-£28,122
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
4107
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 38.1%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,290
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£28,122
Acquisition costs
£173K
25% deposit£109,999
Stamp duty£34,000
Refurb£19,458
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,600
Cash needed£173,207
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Move in before Christmas + £21,999 Deposit Contribution, Amtico & carpet flooring, internal appliances and turf all included alongside a Christmas Package!* : The Juniper - Home 534
Don't miss your opportunity to secure this beautifully designed family home at The Atrium. Available with £10,949 Stamp Duty Paid and benefiting from a garage and driveway parking, The Juniper combines traditional character with stylish, modern living.