7.12% Rent by the room return before costs — verify the rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
EPC D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Monthly profit −£234/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-2.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£234/mo
You top up £234/mo
Price
£265K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-2.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£107K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room7.12%5-yr return on cash -7%Rent est. £1,295 (£1,280–£1,310)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,280–£1,310/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £66,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,593–£23,506 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £198,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsCADW register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
+£165/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
10.87% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.86% as-is
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
2× Double @ £530/mo1× En-suite @ £601/mo
≈ £1,662/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£187
Return before costson price5.86%
Cash needed£78,148
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£22
Return before costson price10.87%
Cash needed£94,148
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£165
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,000
Range: £42,000 – £56,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£48,990–£92,080full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
1 × bathroom£5,700–£10,450
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£6,930–£12,870
Flooring£10,890–£20,790
Based on 300 HMO comps within 1.3 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 10 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score10 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Cila Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 7DR
Not rated
Dunvant Primary
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 7SN
Not rated
Hendrefoilan Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 7LF
Not rated
Olchfa School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 7AB
Not rated
Pen Y Fro Primary
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 7UF
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£2,811/yr kept
Annual gross rent£15,540
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£2,811
Exit costs
-£7,759 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£292,581
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£27,581
Sale costs (~2.5%)£7,315
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£7,759
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£106,615cash needed
Purchase price£265,000
Deposit (25%)£66,250
Stamp duty+4% higher-rate surcharge£16,450
Refurb£16,790
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage fees£4,975
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£106,615
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Situated on the ever-popular Dylan Road in Killay, this attractive three-bedroom detached bungalow occupies and offers excellent potential for further development, subject to the necessary planning consents.
Ideally located just a short 10-minute walk from Killay Precinct, the property enjoys easy access to a wide range of local amenities, shops, cafés, and well-regarded schools, making it an appealing prospect for families, investors, and developers alike.
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£265K
Return before costs (best)
7.12%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,280–£1,310/mo · n=7
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £66,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,593–£23,506 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £198,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Short-let (SA) context325 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
325 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Swansea · cap £598/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Swansea
LHA monthly cap:
£598
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+800% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£15,540
£4,835
£12,919
£0
£0
-£2,214
-£2,214
Year 2
£16,006
£4,980
£12,919
£0
£0
-£1,893
-£4,106
Year 3
£16,486
£5,129
£12,919
£0
£0
-£1,562
-£5,668
Year 4
£16,981
£5,283
£12,919
£0
£0
-£1,221
-£6,889
Year 5
£17,490
£5,442
£12,919
£0
£0
-£870
-£7,759
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,662
Gross Rent by the room yield7.12%
What we verified
12 total
5106
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£3,000–£7,000 to upgrade to CD
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 10/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,584
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£7,759
Acquisition costs
£107K
25% deposit£66,250
Stamp duty£16,450
Refurb£16,790
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£4,975
Cash needed£106,615
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Situated on the ever-popular Dylan Road in Killay, this attractive three-bedroom detached bungalow occupies and offers excellent potential for further development, subject to the necessary planning consents.
Ideally located just a short 10-minute walk from Killay Precinct, the property enjoys easy access to a wide range of local amenities, shops, cafés, and well-regarded schools, making it an appealing prospect for families, investors, and developers alike.