-1.4% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£132/mo
You top up £132/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+8% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-1.4%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£92K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £220KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room8.58%5-yr return on cash -2%Rent est. £1,172 (£1,116–£1,231)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,116–£1,231/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,064
£4,381
£10,725
£0
£0
-£1,042
-£1,042
Year 2
£14,486
£4,512
£10,725
£0
£0
-£751
-£1,793
Year 3
£14,920
£4,647
£10,725
£0
£0
-£452
-£2,245
Year 4
£15,368
£4,787
£10,725
£0
£0
-£144
-£2,388
Year 5
£15,829
£4,930
£10,725
£0
£33
£141
-£2,248
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£15,405
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£236,825
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
60066 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain50% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 40% (10 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Additional HMO — 2 designations
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingC
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band C
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
PASS
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
+£235/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
13.09% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.39% as-is
🔓 +1 bedroom potential
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£6,292/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 4 habitable rooms (3 beds + 1 reception(s)) in 72 m²; open-plan kitchen/diner serves as the communal living space, so all 1 convertible room(s) become bedrooms → up to 4 lettable rooms (0 double, 1 single); sized to Walsall adopted standard (6.51/11 m²; Minimum HMO Standards Walsall (February 2018)); adds ~£524/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); Walsall runs partial additional HMO licensing — a licence is likely required even below 5 occupants (check scheme area); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 single
✓Sized to Walsall's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £559/mo1× Single @ £406/mo1× En-suite @ £608/mo
≈ £1,573/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£111
Return before costson price6.39%
Cash needed£66,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£124
Return before costson price13.09%
Cash needed£82,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£235
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit-£66
Return before costson price11.44%
Cash needed£92,898
Extra rent+£524/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£52,800
Range: £46,200 – £61,600
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 50% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 40% (10 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£56,030–£105,535full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£9,180–£18,360
1 × bathroom£6,150–£11,275
Rewire£4,400–£7,700
Replumb£3,300–£6,600
Windows£11,000–£19,800
Paint + decor£8,800–£16,500
Flooring£13,200–£25,300
Based on 240 HMO comps within 13.7 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 21.9%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Walsall City-wide HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Walsall Wood School
Primary · Academy converter · WS8 7BP
Good
Watling Street Primary School
Primary · Community school · WS8 7LW
Good
Brownhills West Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · WS8 7LA
Not rated
Holy Trinity Church of England Primary School
Primary · Voluntary controlled school · WS8 7EG
Not rated
Brownhills Ormiston Academy
Secondary · Academy converter · WS8 7QG
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,583/yr kept
Annual gross rent£14,064
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,583
Exit costs
-£2,248 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£242,898
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£22,898
Sale costs (~2.5%)£6,072
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£91,530
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
well presented three bedroom end terrace houseopen plan kitchen and dining/family roomfront living roomexcellent sized bedroomsmodern first floor bathroom with separate WCsuperb first time/family purchaseexcellent road network links towards walsall, brownhills, cannock and further afield
Three bedroom end terrace first time purchase/family home, ideally positioned within a popular residential setting and offering well proportioned accommodation together with excellent outdoo…
8.58%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
6.39% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£132/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Energy rating C — Min. energy standard 2030 compliant.
Price
£220K
8% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
8.58%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
C
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,116–£1,231/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Short-let (SA) context339 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
339 active short-let listings in this postcode
Superhosts earn -13.7% premium here
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Black Country · cap £748/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Black Country
LHA monthly cap:
£748
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,064
£4,381
£10,725
£0
£0
-£1,042
-£1,042
Year 2
£14,486
£4,512
£10,725
£0
£0
-£751
-£1,793
Year 3
£14,920
£4,647
£10,725
£0
£0
-£452
-£2,245
Year 4
£15,368
£4,787
£10,725
£0
£0
-£144
-£2,388
Year 5
£15,829
£4,930
£10,725
£0
£33
£141
-£2,248
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,573
Gross Rent by the room yield8.58%
What we verified
12 total
6006
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCEnergy efficiency ratingC
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 21.9%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,145
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£2,248
Acquisition costs
£92K
25% deposit£55,000
Stamp duty£12,900
Refurb£17,630
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,300
Cash needed£91,530
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
well presented three bedroom end terrace houseopen plan kitchen and dining/family roomfront living roomexcellent sized bedroomsmodern first floor bathroom with separate WCsuperb first time/family purchaseexcellent road network links towards walsall, brownhills, cannock and further afield
Three bedroom end terrace first time purchase/family home, ideally positioned within a popular residential setting and offering well proportioned accommodation together with excellent outdoo…