-2.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£167/mo
You top up £167/mo
Price
£165K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-2.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£71K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price6.12%5-yr return on cash -9%Rent est. £842 (£798–£888)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £798–£888/mo · n=42
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £41,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,963–£22,331 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £123,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£10,104
£3,677
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,616
-£1,616
Year 2
£10,407
£3,787
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,424
-£3,040
Year 3
£10,719
£3,901
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,225
-£4,265
Year 4
£11,041
£4,018
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,020
-£5,285
Year 5
£11,372
£4,138
£8,044
£0
£0
-£810
-£6,095
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£14,082
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£177,619
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50165 ok · 0 caution · 1 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable72% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 73% (11 decisions)
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingF · ~£10k–£20k fix
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band F
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
FAIL
Upgrade to C
estimated cost
£10k–£20k
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£2,005/yr kept
Annual gross rent£10,104
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£2,005
Exit costs
-£6,095 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£182,173
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£17,173
Sale costs (~2.5%)£4,554
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£6,095
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£71,426cash needed
Purchase price£165,000
Deposit (25%)£41,250
Stamp duty+5% additional-property surcharge£9,050
Refurb£15,951
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage fees£3,475
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£71,426
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
3 double bedroom end of terrace house - larger than standard - 2 reception rooms - fabulous huge bathroom - utility & WC - rear courtyard with large electric roller shutter - beautifully presented throughout - potentially no chain ... Good Life Homes are delighted to bring to the market a superb one-off spacious end of terrace home which we believed may have been a shop premises many years ago hence the large rooms and slightly different layout. The current owners have modern…
Energy rating F — Min. energy standard blocker by 2030 (~£10,000–£20,000 upgrade)
Chain free
Price
£165K
Return before costs
6.12%
est rent £842/monot enough comparablesRange £798–£888/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
F
MEES (Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards) blocker by 2030 ~£10,000–£20,000 upgrade
Deal flags1 issue
EPC F — MEES blocker
Cannot be let on a new tenancy without upgrade to E (current) / C (2030)
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £798–£888/mo · n=42
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £41,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,963–£22,331 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £123,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Sunderland · cap £549/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Sunderland
LHA monthly cap:
£549
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+1200% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£10,104
£3,677
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,616
-£1,616
Year 2
£10,407
£3,787
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,424
-£3,040
Year 3
£10,719
£3,901
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,225
-£4,265
Year 4
£11,041
£4,018
£8,044
£0
£0
-£1,020
-£5,285
Year 5
£11,372
£4,138
£8,044
£0
£0
-£810
-£6,095
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,495
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5016
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£10,000–£20,000 to upgrade to CF
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£1,609
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£6,095
Acquisition costs
£71K
25% deposit£41,250
Stamp duty£9,050
Refurb£15,951
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£3,475
Cash needed£71,426
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
3 double bedroom end of terrace house - larger than standard - 2 reception rooms - fabulous huge bathroom - utility & WC - rear courtyard with large electric roller shutter - beautifully presented throughout - potentially no chain ... Good Life Homes are delighted to bring to the market a superb one-off spacious end of terrace home which we believed may have been a shop premises many years ago hence the large rooms and slightly different layout. The current owners have modern…