7.84% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
EPC B — MEES compliant
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£281/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-3.1% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£281/mo
You top up £281/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+15% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-3.1%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£100K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £245KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room7.84%5-yr return on cash -12%Rent est. £1,114 (£1,021–£1,215)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,021–£1,215/mo · n=14
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £61,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £183,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£13,368
£4,285
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,861
-£2,861
Year 2
£13,769
£4,414
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,588
-£5,449
Year 3
£14,182
£4,546
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,308
-£7,757
Year 4
£14,608
£4,683
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,019
-£9,776
Year 5
£15,046
£4,823
£11,944
£0
£0
-£1,721
-£11,497
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£15,243
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£263,737
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
60066 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable64% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 63% (35 decisions)
•NOTE: this council assesses HMO concentration by none, not a radius percentage — the radius figures below are indicative only
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingB
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band B
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
PASS
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£99,905
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
SLADE Property Collective presents
25 Croft Gardens, Akron GateOffers in the Region of £250,000
Nestled within the highly desirable Akron Gate development, this beautifully presented three-bedroom mid-terrace home offers stylish, contemporary living in a location that continues to prove popular with first-time buyers, young families and downsizers alike. Offering approximately 813 sq. Ft. Of thoughtfully designed accommodation, the property boasts a spacious living/dining r…
7.84%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
5.46% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£281/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Energy rating B — Min. energy standard 2030 compliant.
Price
£245K
15% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
7.84%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
B
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,021–£1,215/mo · n=14
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £61,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £183,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Short-let (SA) context243 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
243 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Black Country · cap £748/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Black Country
LHA monthly cap:
£748
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£13,368
£4,285
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,861
-£2,861
Year 2
£13,769
£4,414
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,588
-£5,449
Year 3
£14,182
£4,546
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,308
-£7,757
Year 4
£14,608
£4,683
£11,944
£0
£0
-£2,019
-£9,776
Year 5
£15,046
£4,823
£11,944
£0
£0
-£1,721
-£11,497
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,634
Gross Rent by the room yield7.84%
What we verified
12 total
6006
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCEnergy efficiency ratingB
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 26.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,389
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£11,497
Acquisition costs
£100K
25% deposit£61,250
Stamp duty£14,650
Refurb£17,630
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,675
Cash needed£99,905
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
SLADE Property Collective presents
25 Croft Gardens, Akron GateOffers in the Region of £250,000
Nestled within the highly desirable Akron Gate development, this beautifully presented three-bedroom mid-terrace home offers stylish, contemporary living in a location that continues to prove popular with first-time buyers, young families and downsizers alike. Offering approximately 813 sq. Ft. Of thoughtfully designed accommodation, the property boasts a spacious living/dining r…