6.45% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Priced below market -36% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo) — instant equity
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£412/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-3.4% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£412/mo
You top up £412/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-36% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-3.4%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£0
Fully recycled — pull all your cash back out
Price £400KCash to buy £159KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room6.45%5-yr return on cash -10%Rent est. £1,804 (£1,746–£1,864)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,746–£1,864/mo · n=50
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £100,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£15,107–£28,199 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £300,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£21,648
£6,265
£19,500
£0
£0
-£4,117
-£4,117
Year 2
£22,297
£6,453
£19,500
£0
£0
-£3,655
-£7,772
Year 3
£22,966
£6,646
£19,500
£0
£0
-£3,180
-£10,952
Year 4
£23,655
£6,846
£19,500
£0
£0
-£2,690
-£13,642
Year 5
£24,365
£7,051
£19,500
£0
£0
-£2,186
-£15,828
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£21,700
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£430,592
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
30093 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 9 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdUnknownTenure & planningUnknown
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable81% likely
Confidence: medium
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•concentration ~1.0% within 100m (1 known HMOs) — below the 10% threshold
•local council HMO approval rate 81% (588 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO licensed-HMO register published by this council — the count below reflects granted planning decisions only and materially understates actual HMO density
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈1.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
1 known HMO within 100 m
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
-£248/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
7.20% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.41% as-is
🔓 +2 bedrooms potential
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£18,288/yr extra rent
3 → 5 lettable rooms · ~6.0% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 6 habitable rooms (3 beds + 3 reception(s)) in 96 m²; convert 2 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 5 lettable rooms; sized to Oxford adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Landlord's Guide to Amenities and Facilities for Houses in Multiple Occupation, Oxford City Council, April 2019); adds ~£1,524/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); mandatory HMO licence (5+ persons, England); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 5 bed HMOuplift 5.41% → 5.96%
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £775/mo1× Single @ £633/mo1× En-suite @ £878/mo
≈ £2,286/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£301
Return before costson price5.41%
Cash needed£111,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£550
Return before costson price7.20%
Cash needed£127,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£248
+2 rooms (5 total)
Monthly profit+£381
Return before costson price11.43%
Cash needed£147,898
Extra rent+£1,524/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£60,000
Range: £52,500 – £70,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 81% likely
medium confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
concentration ~1.0% within 100m (1 known HMOs) — below the 10% threshold
local council HMO approval rate 81% (588 decisions)
1 known HMO within 100 m · ≈1.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£60,694–£108,251full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£9,900–£19,800
1 × bathroom£6,750–£12,375
Rewire£5,005–£8,008
Replumb£4,004–£7,007
Windows£11,011–£19,019
Paint + decor£10,010–£17,017
Flooring£14,014–£25,025
Based on 1755 HMO comps within 555 m
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 76.9%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Houses in Multiple Occupation Article 4 Direction
1 known HMO within 100 m · ≈1.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Slade Nursery School
Nursery · Local authority nursery school · OX3 8QQ
Good
Sandhills Community Primary School
Primary · Academy sponsor led · OX3 8FN
Good
Wood Farm Primary School
Primary · Community school · OX3 8QQ
Good
Endeavour Academy, Oxford
Not applicable · Academy special sponsor led · OX3 8DD
Not rated
Headington Quarry Nursery School
Nursery · Local authority nursery school · OX3 8LH
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£4,949/yr kept
Annual gross rent£21,648
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£4,949
Exit costs
-£15,828 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£441,632
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£41,632
Sale costs (~2.5%)£11,041
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£159,292
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Offered with no chain, a well proportioned three bedroom family home situated in a sought-after residential location in Headington, offering over 1,000 sq ft of accommodation and an excellent-sized rear garden.
The ground floor comprises two generous reception rooms, providing flexible living and entertaining space, alongside a fitted kitchen leading through to a bright dining room with direct access to the rear garden.
6.45%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Priced below market -36% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Chain free
Price
£400K
36% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
6.45%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,746–£1,864/mo · n=50
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £100,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£15,107–£28,199 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £300,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context298 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
298 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Oxford · cap £1,321/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Oxford
LHA monthly cap:
£1,321
Scheme type:
nominee
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£21,648
£6,265
£19,500
£0
£0
-£4,117
-£4,117
Year 2
£22,297
£6,453
£19,500
£0
£0
-£3,655
-£7,772
Year 3
£22,966
£6,646
£19,500
£0
£0
-£3,180
-£10,952
Year 4
£23,655
£6,846
£19,500
£0
£0
-£2,690
-£13,642
Year 5
£24,365
£7,051
£19,500
£0
£0
-£2,186
-£15,828
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£2,286
Gross Rent by the room yield6.45%
What we verified
12 total
4008
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeUnknown
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 76.9%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£3,900
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£15,828
Acquisition costs
£159K
25% deposit£100,000
Stamp duty£30,000
Refurb£20,142
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,000
Cash needed£159,292
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Offered with no chain, a well proportioned three bedroom family home situated in a sought-after residential location in Headington, offering over 1,000 sq ft of accommodation and an excellent-sized rear garden.
The ground floor comprises two generous reception rooms, providing flexible living and entertaining space, alongside a fitted kitchen leading through to a bright dining room with direct access to the rear garden.