-1.2% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£117/mo
You top up £117/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-5% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-1.2%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£83K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £220KCash to buy £92KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room7.11%5-yr return on cash -1%Rent est. £1,212 (£1,122–£1,309)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,122–£1,309/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,544
£4,669
£10,725
£0
£0
-£850
-£850
Year 2
£14,980
£4,809
£10,725
£0
£0
-£554
-£1,404
Year 3
£15,430
£4,953
£10,725
£0
£0
-£249
-£1,653
Year 4
£15,893
£5,102
£10,725
£0
£12
£54
-£1,599
Year 5
£16,369
£5,255
£10,725
£0
£74
£315
-£1,284
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£15,405
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£236,825
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
60066 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain50% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 40% (10 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Additional HMO — 2 designations
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingC
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band C
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
PASS
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
+£203/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
13.09% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.61% as-is
🔓 +1 bedroom potential
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£5,684/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 6 habitable rooms (3 beds + 3 reception(s)) in 67 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms (0 double, 1 single); sized to Walsall adopted standard (6.51/11 m²; Minimum HMO Standards Walsall (February 2018)); kitchen 6.3 m² is below the ~7.0 m² standard for 4 occupants — extend/relocate kitchen within the works; adds ~£474/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); Walsall runs partial additional HMO licensing — a licence is likely required even below 5 occupants (check scheme area); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 single
✓Sized to Walsall's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
2× Double @ £546/mo1× Single @ £329/mo
≈ £1,421/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£79
Return before costson price6.61%
Cash needed£66,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£124
Return before costson price13.09%
Cash needed£82,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£203
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit-£212
Return before costson price10.33%
Cash needed£92,898
Extra rent+£474/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£52,800
Range: £46,200 – £61,600
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 50% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 40% (10 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£56,030–£105,535full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£9,180–£18,360
1 × bathroom£6,150–£11,275
Rewire£4,400–£7,700
Replumb£3,300–£6,600
Windows£11,000–£19,800
Paint + decor£8,800–£16,500
Flooring£13,200–£25,300
Based on 258 HMO comps within 10.4 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.6%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Walsall City-wide HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Walsall Wood School
Primary · Academy converter · WS8 7BP
Good
Watling Street Primary School
Primary · Community school · WS8 7LW
Good
Brownhills West Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · WS8 7LA
Not rated
Holy Trinity Church of England Primary School
Primary · Voluntary controlled school · WS8 7EG
Not rated
Brownhills Ormiston Academy
Secondary · Academy converter · WS8 7QG
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,409/yr kept
Annual gross rent£14,544
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,409
Exit costs
-£1,284 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£242,898
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£22,898
Sale costs (~2.5%)£6,072
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£91,530
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
modern three bedroom semi detached homecul de sac locationno upward chainattractive gardens with generous drivewayconservatory with quality clad roof for all year round useground floor guest W/C and first floor shower room
This well presented modern three bedroom semi detached home offers an exceptional opportunity for first time buyers or young families Offered for sale with the significant advantage of no upward chain, the home has been lovingly maintained by its current o…
7.11%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Priced below market -5% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Price
£220K
5% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
7.11%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
C
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,122–£1,309/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £55,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £165,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Short-let (SA) context339 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
339 active short-let listings in this postcode
Superhosts earn -13.7% premium here
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Black Country · cap £748/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Black Country
LHA monthly cap:
£748
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,544
£4,669
£10,725
£0
£0
-£850
-£850
Year 2
£14,980
£4,809
£10,725
£0
£0
-£554
-£1,404
Year 3
£15,430
£4,953
£10,725
£0
£0
-£249
-£1,653
Year 4
£15,893
£5,102
£10,725
£0
£12
£54
-£1,599
Year 5
£16,369
£5,255
£10,725
£0
£74
£315
-£1,284
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£30,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,421
Gross Rent by the room yield7.11%
What we verified
12 total
6006
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCEnergy efficiency ratingC
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 17.6%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,145
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£1,284
Acquisition costs
£92K
25% deposit£55,000
Stamp duty£12,900
Refurb£17,630
Legal + survey£1,700
Mortgage + broker£4,300
Cash needed£91,530
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
modern three bedroom semi detached homecul de sac locationno upward chainattractive gardens with generous drivewayconservatory with quality clad roof for all year round useground floor guest W/C and first floor shower room
This well presented modern three bedroom semi detached home offers an exceptional opportunity for first time buyers or young families Offered for sale with the significant advantage of no upward chain, the home has been lovingly maintained by its current o…