-1.3% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£117/mo
You top up £117/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-15% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-1.3%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£57K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £200KCash to buy £84KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room7.83%5-yr return on cash -2%Rent est. £1,120 (£960–£1,307)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £960–£1,307/mo · n=44
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £49,988
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,862–£24,009 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £149,962.5 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent by the room wins — +£303/mo · £369/mo ahead of Council lease (after room-conversion)
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
6.72%
-£117
£84,333
-2.1%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
3.29%
-£612
£84,333
-39.4%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
6.72%
-£66
£84,333
-1.5%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
6.72%
-£102
£101,190
-0.8%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£191
£237,156
2%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Rent by the room
5.31% *
+£303
£73,912
—
—
Feasible
* Rent by the room shows net yield on cost for the audited HMO conversion deal (post-conversion, after running costs) — not gross like the other rows. Its 5-yr ROI reads “—” because the audited deal is a year-one snapshot; the HMO conversion panel below shows the cash-back / payback horizon.
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Rotherham · cap £549/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Rotherham
LHA monthly cap:
£549
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£263/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
14.40% Return before costs on price converted vs 6.72% as-is
£200k → 4-bed HMO @ ~£447/room: £1,733 pcm gross, ~£990 pcm net (5.3% net on £224k all-in incl. ~£10k works)
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£5,484/yr extra rent
3 → 4 lettable rooms · ~5.4% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 5 habitable rooms (3 beds + 2 reception(s)) in 101 m²; convert 1 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 4 lettable rooms; sized to Rotherham adopted standard (6.52/10.23 m²; Houses in Multiple Occupation Guidance and Amenity Standards, January 2018 (updated September 2018)); adds ~£457/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted)
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 4 bed HMO+1 single5.31% net on cost4.91% cash-on-cashuplift 6.72% → 5.43%
✓Sized to Rotherham's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £488/mo1× Single @ £358/mo1× En-suite @ £525/mo
≈ £1,371/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£75
Return before costson price6.72%
Cash needed£61,886
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£188
Return before costson price14.40%
Cash needed£77,886
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£263
+1 room (4 total)
Monthly profit-£182
Return before costson price10.97%
Cash needed£87,886
Extra rent+£457/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£50,400
Range: £44,100 – £58,800
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£54,812–£101,092full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£9,000–£18,000
1 × bathroom£6,000–£11,000
Rewire£4,304–£7,532
Replumb£3,228–£6,456
Windows£10,760–£19,368
Paint + decor£8,608–£15,064
Flooring£12,912–£23,672
Based on 91 HMO comps within 773 m
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 16.0%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment3 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first3 of 5
Newman School
Not applicable · Academy special sponsor led · S60 3LX
Requires improvement
Sitwell Junior School
Primary · Academy converter · S60 3LA
Not rated
Sitwell Nursery & Infant School
Primary · Community school · S60 3LA
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£1,402/yr kept
Annual gross rent£13,440
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£1,402
Exit costs
-£1,731 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£220,761
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£20,811
Sale costs (~2.5%)£5,519
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Priced below market -15% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£200K
15% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
7.83%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £960–£1,307/mo · n=44
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £49,988
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,862–£24,009 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,100 legal + £600 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £149,962.5 loan + £1,000 booking fee