5.56% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£370/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-3.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£370/mo
You top up £370/mo
Price
£360K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-3.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£138K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room5.56%5-yr return on cash -10%Rent est. £1,572 (£1,546–£1,598)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc live
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,546–£1,598/mo · n=32
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £89,999
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.5%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed (market average) — 5.50% (as of 2026-05).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£10,225–£19,086 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £269,996.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£18,864
£5,703
£16,875
£0
£0
-£3,714
-£3,714
Year 2
£19,430
£5,874
£16,875
£0
£0
-£3,319
-£7,033
Year 3
£20,013
£6,050
£16,875
£0
£0
-£2,912
-£9,945
Year 4
£20,613
£6,232
£16,875
£0
£0
-£2,493
-£12,439
Year 5
£21,232
£6,419
£16,875
£0
£0
-£2,062
-£14,501
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£14,251
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£387,527
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
41074 ok · 1 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable83% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 50m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 83% (446 decisions)
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
5.56%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
5.24% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£370/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£360K
Return before costs (best)
5.56%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
— bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc live
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,546–£1,598/mo · n=32
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £89,999
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.5%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed (market average) — 5.50% (as of 2026-05).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£10,225–£19,086 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £269,996.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K