12.76% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
8.38% return before costs — above-market
12.8% Rent by the room return before costs (net 3.79% after CapEx + bills) — conversion play
Priced below market -39% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo) — instant equity
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress — lender-friendly
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£426/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-3.6% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£426/mo
You top up £426/mo
Price vs market
Below market value
-39% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
-3.6%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash left in
£39K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £175KCash to buy £123KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room12.76%5-yr return on cash -18%Rent est. £1,222 (£1,187–£1,258)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,187–£1,258/mo · n=64
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £43,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£47,817–£89,258 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £131,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,664
£10,684
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,551
-£4,551
Year 2
£15,104
£11,005
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,432
-£8,983
Year 3
£15,557
£11,335
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,309
-£13,292
Year 4
£16,024
£11,675
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,182
-£17,475
Year 5
£16,504
£12,025
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,052
-£21,526
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£62,122
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£188,384
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
Leasehold965 yr
Leaseholdmaterial factsListing extract
Lease remaining
Mortgageable ≥80yr
965 yr
Service charge
Annual running cost
£6,033/yr
Service charge ~3.45% of price
£6,033/year on a £175,000 property eats ~10–15% of typical gross yield. Build into the BTL model.
Extracted from listing description · verify with solicitor
Tenure & planning965 yr
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureLeasehold
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable83% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 50m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 83% (446 decisions)
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent it out wins — -£426/mo · level with Refurb & refinance
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
⭐ Rent it out
8.38%
-£426
£122,881
-17.5%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
6.16%
-£747
£122,881
-33.0%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
6.16%
-£560
£122,881
-26.9%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
8.38%
-£426
£157,133
-13.7%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£702
£276,008
-24%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
12.76%
-£1,766
£148,881
-67.6%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Northampton · cap £898/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Northampton
LHA monthly cap:
£898
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£181/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
16.46% Return before costs on price converted vs 8.38% as-is
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £612/mo1× Single @ £572/mo1× En-suite @ £678/mo
≈ £1,861/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit+£85
Return before costson price8.38%
Cash needed£55,648
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£267
Return before costson price16.46%
Cash needed£71,648
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£181
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£44,000
Range: £38,000 – £52,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 83% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 50m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 83% (446 decisions)
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
£54,690–£102,530full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
2 × bathroom£11,400–£20,900
Rewire£3,960–£6,930
Replumb£2,970–£5,940
Windows£9,900–£17,820
Paint + decor£6,930–£12,870
Flooring£10,890–£20,790
Based on 1079 HMO comps within 10.7 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 23.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 90 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score90 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Local HMO policy & concentration
≈0.0% within 50 m vs 10% policy
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
Ecton Village Primary School
Primary · Academy sponsor led · NN6 0QF
Good
Mears Ashby Church of England Primary School
Primary · Academy sponsor led · NN6 0DW
Good
Overstone Park School
Not applicable · Other independent special school · NN6 0DT
Not rated
Overstone Primary School
Primary · Community school · NN6 0AG
Not rated
Sywell Church of England Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · NN6 0AW
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£5,115/yr kept
Annual gross rent£14,664
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£5,115
Exit costs
-£21,526 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£193,214
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£18,214
Sale costs (~2.5%)£4,830
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£21,526
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£122,881cash needed
Purchase price£175,000
Deposit (25%)£43,750
Stamp duty+5% additional-property surcharge£9,750
Refurb£63,756
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage fees£3,625
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£122,881
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Stonhills are pleased to offer this three bedroom lodge set within Overstone Park Golf & Leisure Resort, offering a lounge/dining room, kitchen, ground floor shower room, first floor bathroom and parking. The sale includes 4 golf memberships and 4 gym memberships for Overstone Park. Service charge £6,033 p.a. Cash buyers only.
Set within the leafy setting of Overstone Park Golf & Leisure Resort, this three-bedroom lodge offers easy, low-maintenance living with access to supe…
12.76%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
Priced below market -39% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
8.38% Return before costs — above-market
12.8% Rent by the roomReturn before costs — conversion play
Price
£175K
39% below sold comps
Return before costs (best)
12.76%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,187–£1,258/mo · n=64
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £43,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£47,817–£89,258 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £131,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Northampton · cap £898/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Northampton
LHA monthly cap:
£898
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£14,664
£10,684
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,551
-£4,551
Year 2
£15,104
£11,005
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,432
-£8,983
Year 3
£15,557
£11,335
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,309
-£13,292
Year 4
£16,024
£11,675
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,182
-£17,475
Year 5
£16,504
£12,025
£8,531
£0
£0
-£4,052
-£21,526
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,861
Gross Rent by the room yield12.76%
What we verified
13 total
5107
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureLeasehold years remaining965 yr
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition4▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Service chargeReduces net yield£6,033/yr
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 23.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£1,706
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£21,526
Acquisition costs
£123K
25% deposit£43,750
Stamp duty£9,750
Refurb£63,756
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage + broker£3,625
Cash needed£122,881
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Stonhills are pleased to offer this three bedroom lodge set within Overstone Park Golf & Leisure Resort, offering a lounge/dining room, kitchen, ground floor shower room, first floor bathroom and parking. The sale includes 4 golf memberships and 4 gym memberships for Overstone Park. Service charge £6,033 p.a. Cash buyers only.
Set within the leafy setting of Overstone Park Golf & Leisure Resort, this three-bedroom lodge offers easy, low-maintenance living with access to supe…