-6.4% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£1K/mo
You top up £1K/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+10% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-6.4%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£250K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £500KReturn before costson price3.03%5-yr return on cash -28%Rent est. £1,261 (£1,247–£1,275)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,247–£1,275/mo · n=20
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £124,988
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£55,787–£104,135 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £374,962.5 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£15,132
£5,358
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,598
-£14,598
Year 2
£15,586
£5,519
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,305
-£28,903
Year 3
£16,054
£5,684
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,003
-£42,907
Year 4
£16,535
£5,855
£24,373
£0
£0
-£13,692
-£56,599
Year 5
£17,031
£6,030
£24,373
£0
£0
-£13,372
-£69,970
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£78,291
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£538,186
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50165 ok · 0 caution · 1 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain50% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 40% (10 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
⚠️ Selective Licensing in scope
Additional HMO — 2 designations
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingF · ~£10k–£20k fix
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
From listing description
Band F
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
FAIL
Upgrade to C
estimated cost
£10k–£20k
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£250,014
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
The property
Tenure: Freehold
EPC Rating: F Council Tax Band: F
Introduction & Approach
This is a remarkable opportunity for those who are looking for a renovation project or, subject to planning, complete redevelopment. The plot comprises of a large, three bedroom home set between a long, impressive frontage and an even more remarkable rear garden.
The frontage features a long tarmac driveway running to the left of a lawn garden and provides off road parking for at lea…
Energy rating F — Min. energy standard blocker by 2030 (~£10,000–£20,000 upgrade)
Price
£500K
10% above sold comps
Return before costs
3.03%
est rent £1,261/monot enough comparablesRange £1,247–£1,275/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
F
MEES (Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards) blocker by 2030 ~£10,000–£20,000 upgrade
Deal flags1 issue
EPC F — MEES blocker
Cannot be let on a new tenancy without upgrade to E (current) / C (2030)
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,247–£1,275/mo · n=20
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £124,988
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£55,787–£104,135 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £374,962.5 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context338 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
338 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Black Country · cap £748/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Black Country
LHA monthly cap:
£748
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£15,132
£5,358
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,598
-£14,598
Year 2
£15,586
£5,519
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,305
-£28,903
Year 3
£16,054
£5,684
£24,373
£0
£0
-£14,003
-£42,907
Year 4
£16,535
£5,855
£24,373
£0
£0
-£13,692
-£56,599
Year 5
£17,031
£6,030
£24,373
£0
£0
-£13,372
-£69,970
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,540
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
5016
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£10,000–£20,000 to upgrade to CF
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 35.2%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,875
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£69,970
Acquisition costs
£250K
25% deposit£124,988
Stamp duty£39,995
Refurb£74,382
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£8,499
Cash needed£250,014
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
The property
Tenure: Freehold
EPC Rating: F Council Tax Band: F
Introduction & Approach
This is a remarkable opportunity for those who are looking for a renovation project or, subject to planning, complete redevelopment. The plot comprises of a large, three bedroom home set between a long, impressive frontage and an even more remarkable rear garden.
The frontage features a long tarmac driveway running to the left of a lawn garden and provides off road parking for at lea…