-6.3% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£817/mo
You top up £817/mo
Price
£440K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-6.3%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£173K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room6.13%5-yr return on cash -24%Rent est. £1,506 (£1,280–£1,772)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,280–£1,772/mo · n=8
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £110,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £330,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£18,072
£5,728
£21,450
£0
£0
-£9,106
-£9,106
Year 2
£18,614
£5,900
£21,450
£0
£0
-£8,736
-£17,842
Year 3
£19,173
£6,077
£21,450
£0
£0
-£8,355
-£26,197
Year 4
£19,748
£6,259
£21,450
£0
£0
-£7,962
-£34,159
Year 5
£20,340
£6,447
£21,450
£0
£0
-£7,557
-£41,716
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£21,957
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£473,651
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
41074 ok · 1 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
1 checks
TenureFreehold
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable64% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 63% (16 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£173,208
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · zoopla
Description& agent copyZoopla
Carefully designed for modern family life, the Hendon features a light-filled kitchen/dining room that opens onto the garden through bi-fold doors, along with a separate living room for added space. There's also a dedicated study and an integral garage. On the first floor, four bedrooms and two bathrooms make everyday living a breeze.
Additional Information
• Tenure: Freehold
• Council tax band: Not made available by local authority until post-occupation
"The Hendon" at Nunthorpe Gardens, Nunthorpe, Middlesbrough TS7
detached · 4 bed
£440,000
est £1,506 · 4.11% gross
1 / 7
0/100
Marginal
6.13%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
4.11% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£817/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£440K
Return before costs (best)
6.13%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
4
— bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,280–£1,772/mo · n=8
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £110,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £330,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context243 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
243 active short-let listings in this postcode
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£18,072
£5,728
£21,450
£0
£0
-£9,106
-£9,106
Year 2
£18,614
£5,900
£21,450
£0
£0
-£8,736
-£17,842
Year 3
£19,173
£6,077
£21,450
£0
£0
-£8,355
-£26,197
Year 4
£19,748
£6,259
£21,450
£0
£0
-£7,962
-£34,159
Year 5
£20,340
£6,447
£21,450
£0
£0
-£7,557
-£41,716
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
Conversion£34,000
If converted
Gross / mo£2,249
Gross Rent by the room yield6.13%
What we verified
12 total
4107
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,290
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£41,716
Acquisition costs
£173K
25% deposit£110,000
Stamp duty£34,000
Refurb£19,458
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,600
Cash needed£173,208
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyZoopla
Carefully designed for modern family life, the Hendon features a light-filled kitchen/dining room that opens onto the garden through bi-fold doors, along with a separate living room for added space. There's also a dedicated study and an integral garage. On the first floor, four bedrooms and two bathrooms make everyday living a breeze.
Additional Information
• Tenure: Freehold
• Council tax band: Not made available by local authority until post-occupation