6.51% Rent by the room return before costs — market rent unverified, verify rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£322/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-2.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£322/mo
You top up £322/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+15% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-2.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£205K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £525KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room6.51%5-yr return on cash -3%Rent est. £2,503 (£1,955–£3,205)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,955–£3,205/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £131,249
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £393,746.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£30,036
£7,146
£25,594
£0
£0
-£2,704
-£2,704
Year 2
£30,937
£7,361
£25,594
£0
£0
-£2,017
-£4,721
Year 3
£31,865
£7,582
£25,594
£0
£0
-£1,310
-£6,031
Year 4
£32,821
£7,809
£25,594
£0
£0
-£581
-£6,612
Year 5
£33,806
£8,043
£25,594
£0
£32
£137
-£6,476
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£24,707
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£565,146
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
30093 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 9 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdUnknownTenure & planningUnknown
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable87% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 90% (31 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
"The Beane" at Keepmoat - Fairlands Gate Sales Office, Bedwell Crescent, Stevenage SG1
semi-detached · 4 bed · 2 bath
£524,995
est £2,503 · 5.72% gross
1 / 10
7/100
Marginal
6.51%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
5.72% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£322/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£525K
15% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
6.51%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
4
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,955–£3,205/mo · n=23
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £131,249
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£14,594–£27,241 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £393,746.25 loan + £1,000 booking fee