-0.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£3/mo
You top up £3/mo
Price
£59K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-0.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£51K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price15.25%5-yr return on cash 4%Rent est. £750 (£712–£790)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £712–£790/mo · n=146
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £14,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£20,614–£38,479 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £44,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£50,840
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · onthemarket
Description& agent copyOnTheMarket
NOTE HOME REPORT - The home report is available to view on the Northwood website portal (northwooduk.com/aberdeen)- within the listing and select "View home report".
Northwood are delighted to offer for sale 49 Seaton Walk, a bright, spacious first floor apartment within walking distance of Aberdeen University and within easy reach of the City Centre. The property is in need of some of modernisation throughout and would make an ideal purchase for first time buyers, or a buy…
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
15.25% Return before costs — above-market
Energy rating D — must hit C by 2030 (~£3,000–£7,000)
Price
£59K
Return before costs
15.25%
est rent £750/monot enough comparablesRange £712–£790/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
2
1 bath
Energy rating
D
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
EPC D — upgrade by 2030
Must reach EPC C by 2030 to let on a new tenancy
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £712–£790/mo · n=146
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £14,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£20,614–£38,479 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £44,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Aberdeen and Shire · cap £648/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Aberdeen and Shire
LHA monthly cap:
£648
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£9,000
£5,812
£2,876
£0
£59
£253
£253
Year 2
£9,270
£5,986
£2,876
£0
£77
£330
£583
Year 3
£9,548
£6,166
£2,876
£0
£96
£410
£993
Year 4
£9,835
£6,351
£2,876
£0
£115
£492
£1,485
Year 5
£10,130
£6,541
£2,876
£0
£135
£577
£2,062
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)2 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
12 total
3306
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedN/A
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPC~£3,000–£7,000 to upgrade to CD
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily let
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeBelow threshold
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 10/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£575
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£2,062
Acquisition costs
£51K
25% deposit£14,750
Stamp duty£4,720
Refurb£27,485
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage + broker£1,885
Cash needed£50,840
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyOnTheMarket
NOTE HOME REPORT - The home report is available to view on the Northwood website portal (northwooduk.com/aberdeen)- within the listing and select "View home report".
Northwood are delighted to offer for sale 49 Seaton Walk, a bright, spacious first floor apartment within walking distance of Aberdeen University and within easy reach of the City Centre. The property is in need of some of modernisation throughout and would make an ideal purchase for first time buyers, or a buy…