5.56% return before costs — verify the rent + comps locally.
Why it works
Why to be cautious
Monthly profit −£482/mo — significantly negative — real recurring drain
-2.6% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£482/mo
You top up £482/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+130% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-2.6%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£342K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £880KReturn before costson price5.56%5-yr return on cash -2%Rent est. £4,081 (£3,134–£5,314)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £3,134–£5,314/mo · n=12
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £220,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£20,269–£37,835 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £660,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£48,972
£9,967
£42,900
£0
£0
-£3,895
-£3,895
Year 2
£50,441
£10,266
£42,900
£0
£0
-£2,725
-£6,619
Year 3
£51,954
£10,574
£42,900
£0
£0
-£1,519
-£8,139
Year 4
£53,513
£10,891
£42,900
£0
£0
-£278
-£8,417
Year 5
£55,118
£11,218
£42,900
£0
£190
£811
-£7,606
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£40,624
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£947,301
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable81% likely
Confidence: medium
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•concentration ~1.0% within 100m (1 known HMOs) — below the 10% threshold
•local council HMO approval rate 81% (588 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO licensed-HMO register published by this council — the count below reflects granted planning decisions only and materially understates actual HMO density
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈1.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
1 known HMO within 100 m
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£342,125
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Please note this property is now under offer - A striking modern four bedroom home with exceptional eco-credentials, boasting an A-rated EPC designed for carbon negative living.
Description
19b Sunderland Avenue has been crafted with incredible care and attention, with a particular focus towards a 'fabric first' approach and superb eco-credentials.
The property boasts an A-rated EPC, being designed for carbon negative living, effectively producing more energy that it consu…
5.56% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£482/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£880K
130% above sold comps
Return before costs
5.56%
est rent £4,081/monot enough comparablesRange £3,134–£5,314/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
4
3 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £3,134–£5,314/mo · n=12
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £220,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£20,269–£37,835 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £660,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context390 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
390 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Oxford · cap £1,745/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Oxford
LHA monthly cap:
£1,745
Scheme type:
nominee
Premium:
+0% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£48,972
£9,967
£42,900
£0
£0
-£3,895
-£3,895
Year 2
£50,441
£10,266
£42,900
£0
£0
-£2,725
-£6,619
Year 3
£51,954
£10,574
£42,900
£0
£0
-£1,519
-£8,139
Year 4
£53,513
£10,891
£42,900
£0
£0
-£278
-£8,417
Year 5
£55,118
£11,218
£42,900
£0
£190
£811
-£7,606
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
Conversion£34,000
If converted
Gross / mo£3,147
Gross Rent by the room yield4.29%
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 16.9%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£8,580
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£7,606
Acquisition costs
£342K
25% deposit£220,000
Stamp duty£78,000
Refurb£27,025
Legal + survey£2,900
Mortgage + broker£14,200
Cash needed£342,125
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Please note this property is now under offer - A striking modern four bedroom home with exceptional eco-credentials, boasting an A-rated EPC designed for carbon negative living.
Description
19b Sunderland Avenue has been crafted with incredible care and attention, with a particular focus towards a 'fabric first' approach and superb eco-credentials.
The property boasts an A-rated EPC, being designed for carbon negative living, effectively producing more energy that it consu…