-16.2% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£777/mo
You top up £777/mo
Price
£125K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-16.2%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£60K
Deposit + fees + refurb
5-yr return on cash -79%
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £31,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £93,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£0
£3,226
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,319
-£9,319
Year 2
£0
£3,322
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,416
-£18,735
Year 3
£0
£3,422
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,516
-£28,251
Year 4
£0
£3,525
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,618
-£37,869
Year 5
£0
£3,630
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,724
-£47,593
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£16,320
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£134,560
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
Leasehold117 yr
Leaseholdmaterial factsListing extract
Lease remaining
Mortgageable ≥80yr
117 yr
Extracted from listing description · verify with solicitor
Tenure & planning117 yr
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Uncertain38% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 34% (41 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£304,950 in 2016 → £125,000 asking
-59.0%in 10y
2016£304,950—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Council lease wins — +£4,301/mo · £4,267/mo ahead of Rent by the room
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
0.00%
-£777
£60,005
-79.3%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
5.69%
-£337
£60,005
-27.8%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Council lease
62.62%
+£4,301
£60,005
457.1%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
0.00%
-£777
£73,307
-64.9%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
—
—
—
—
—
Disabledno local short-let data
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£262
£157,932
-4%
Med
Feasible
Rent by the room
16.99%
+£35
£60,005
18.0%
—
Feasible
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Wigan · cap £593/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Wigan
LHA monthly cap:
£593
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
Rent by the room conversion upside
As-is Rent it out vs converted Rent by the room
+£1,116/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
23.04% Return before costs on price converted vs 0.00% as-is
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£691
Return before costson price0.00%
Cash needed£43,148
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit+£425
Return before costson price23.04%
Cash needed£59,148
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£1,116
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,400
Range: £41,800 – £57,200
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Uncertain · 38% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 34% (41 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£39,924–£75,000full refurb + room split
⚠️ Capped at 60% of £125,000 asking (£75,000). Raw model: £62,180–£116,810. Verify with a surveyor before offering.
What's in this cost
Kitchen£5,894–£11,788
2 × bathroom£7,897–£14,479
Rewire£2,825–£4,944
Replumb£2,119–£4,238
Windows£7,063–£12,713
Paint + decor£5,650–£10,594
Flooring£8,475–£16,244
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 90 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score90 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Wigan City-wide HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment5 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first5 of 5
St Marie's Catholic Primary School Standish
Primary · Voluntary aided school · WN6 0LF
Outstanding
Standish St Wilfrid's Church of England Primary Academy
Primary · Academy converter · WN6 0XB
Good
My Life Learning
Not applicable · Special post 16 institution · WN6 0PP
Not rated
My Oasis Therapeutic Alternative Provision
Not applicable · Other independent special school · WN6 0DA
Not rated
Wood Fold Primary School
Primary · Community school · WN6 0TS
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£9,319/yr kept
Annual gross rent£0
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£9,319
Exit costs
-£47,593 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£138,010
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£13,010
Sale costs (~2.5%)£3,450
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£47,593
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£60,005cash needed
Purchase price£125,000
Deposit (25%)£31,250
Stamp duty+5% additional-property surcharge£6,250
Refurb£17,630
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage fees£2,875
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£60,005
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Plumlife Move bring to the market this well presented three bedroom semi detached property, on a brilliant Shared Ownership scheme offering no onward chain! Being sold as a 50% share, the accommodation comprises of an entrance hall, downstairs WC, lounge and a dining kitchen. To the first floor there are three good sized bedrooms and a family bathroom. Externally there is a driveway providing off road parking for two vehicles, with side access leading to the rear garden. Ren…
Monthly profit −£777/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£125K
Return before costs
—
rent unknown
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Deal flags1 issue
Shared ownership
Restricted resale; staircasing required
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
No rent data — verify locally
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £31,250
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£13,223–£24,682 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £93,750 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Wigan · cap £593/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Wigan
LHA monthly cap:
£593
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£0
£3,226
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,319
-£9,319
Year 2
£0
£3,322
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,416
-£18,735
Year 3
£0
£3,422
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,516
-£28,251
Year 4
£0
£3,525
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,618
-£37,869
Year 5
£0
£3,630
£6,094
£0
£0
-£9,724
-£47,593
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
If converted
Gross Rent by the room yield—
What we verified
13 total
6007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureLeasehold years remaining117 yr
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition4▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Service chargeReduces net yield£555/yr
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 90/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£1,219
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£47,593
Acquisition costs
£60K
25% deposit£31,250
Stamp duty£6,250
Refurb£17,630
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage + broker£2,875
Cash needed£60,005
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Plumlife Move bring to the market this well presented three bedroom semi detached property, on a brilliant Shared Ownership scheme offering no onward chain! Being sold as a 50% share, the accommodation comprises of an entrance hall, downstairs WC, lounge and a dining kitchen. To the first floor there are three good sized bedrooms and a family bathroom. Externally there is a driveway providing off road parking for two vehicles, with side access leading to the rear garden. Ren…