-12.5% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£2K/mo
You top up £2K/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+70% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-12.5%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£181K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £450KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room6.57%5-yr return on cash -56%Rent est. £449 (£382–£528)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £382–£528/mo · n=1
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £112,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,854–£33,327 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £337,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£5,388
£3,892
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,441
-£20,441
Year 2
£5,550
£4,008
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,396
-£40,838
Year 3
£5,716
£4,129
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,350
-£61,188
Year 4
£5,888
£4,253
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,302
-£81,490
Year 5
£6,064
£4,380
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,253
-£101,743
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£26,540
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£484,415
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable64% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 63% (16 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsNHLE register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
+£851/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
6.40% Return before costs on price converted vs 1.20% as-is
🔓 +2 bedrooms potential
medium confidence
Unlocks ~£11,818/yr extra rent
5 → 7 lettable rooms
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the floorplan (kitchen size assumed) — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 7 habitable rooms (5 beds + 2 reception(s)) in 205 m²; open-plan kitchen/diner serves as the communal living space, so all 2 convertible room(s) become bedrooms → up to 7 lettable rooms (1 double, 0 single) (incl. the garage — convertible to a bedroom or the communal area); sized to Middlesbrough adopted standard (6.51/10.22 m²; Middlesbrough Council Guide to HMO Standards (Jul 2024)); 1 room size(s) not printed on the plan — counted but unverified vs the standard; FULL REFURB (split 1 large room(s) into 10.22 m²+ doubles) → up to 8 rooms (ceiling, subject to windows/layout/planning); adds ~£985/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); large HMO (7+ residents) is sui generis — planning permission required; mandatory HMO licence (5+ persons, England); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
5 → 7 bed HMO+1 double, +1 single
7-bed
HMO licence7+ = planning required
✓Sized to Middlesbrough's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (5 lettable rooms)
3× Double @ £529/mo1× Single @ £397/mo1× En-suite @ £479/mo
≈ £2,462/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£1,596
Return before costson price1.20%
Cash needed£124,398
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£745
Return before costson price6.40%
Cash needed£140,398
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£851
+2 rooms (7 total)
Monthly profit+£10
Return before costson price9.19%
Cash needed£160,398
Extra rent+£985/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£3,000
Range: £2,000 – £5,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 64% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 63% (16 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
£76,320–£137,565full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,820–£17,640
3 × bathroom£17,550–£32,175
Rewire£5,400–£9,450
Replumb£4,050–£8,100
Windows£13,500–£24,300
Paint + decor£10,800–£17,550
Flooring£16,200–£28,350
Based on 1366 HMO comps within 6.2 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 32.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 100 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score100 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Middlesbrough City-wide HMO Article 4
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment3 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first3 of 5
Captain Cook Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · TS7 8DU
Not rated
Lingfield Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · TS7 8LP
Not rated
Marton Manor Primary School
Primary · Academy converter · TS7 8RH
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£20,648/yr kept
Annual gross rent£5,388
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£20,648
Exit costs
-£101,743 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£496,836
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£46,836
Sale costs (~2.5%)£12,421
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£181,205
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
Built by Avant to the impressive 'Kirkham' design, and positioned on a favourable corner plot, this handsome, five bedroom property delivers impressive and stylish living space, certainly deserving of early inspection.
The stunning open-plan kitchen/dining/living space across the rear feel like the 'hub' of the home, with a fabulous kitchen range, island, Integrated Fridge freezer & dishwasher, two Neff Slide & Hide ovens and an AEG 5 ring gas hob and feature bi-fold doors o…
36, BEAU GARDENS, MARTON IN CLEVELAND, MIDDLESBROUGH, TS7 8EN
detached · 5 bed · 3 bath
£450,000
est £449 · 1.20% gross
1 / 22
6/100
Marginal
6.57% — verify the rent + comps locally.
1.20% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£1,721/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£450K
70% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
6.57%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
5
3 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £382–£528/mo · n=1
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £112,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£17,854–£33,327 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £337,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context243 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
243 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Teesside · cap £748/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Teesside
LHA monthly cap:
£748
Scheme type:
none
Premium:
+1000% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
landlord pays agent (typical 10%)
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£5,388
£3,892
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,441
-£20,441
Year 2
£5,550
£4,008
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,396
-£40,838
Year 3
£5,716
£4,129
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,350
-£61,188
Year 4
£5,888
£4,253
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,302
-£81,490
Year 5
£6,064
£4,380
£21,938
£0
£0
-£20,253
-£101,743
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)5 bd
Conversion£42,000
If converted
Gross / mo£2,462
Gross Rent by the room yield6.57%
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedMandatory
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicRent by the room / sharers
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 32.7%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£4,388
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£101,743
Acquisition costs
£181K
25% deposit£112,500
Stamp duty£35,000
Refurb£23,805
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£7,750
Cash needed£181,205
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
Built by Avant to the impressive 'Kirkham' design, and positioned on a favourable corner plot, this handsome, five bedroom property delivers impressive and stylish living space, certainly deserving of early inspection.
The stunning open-plan kitchen/dining/living space across the rear feel like the 'hub' of the home, with a fabulous kitchen range, island, Integrated Fridge freezer & dishwasher, two Neff Slide & Hide ovens and an AEG 5 ring gas hob and feature bi-fold doors o…