-2.0% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£198/mo
You top up £198/mo
Price
£280K
No local sold comps to compare
Return · IRR
-2.0%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£112K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Return before costson price · Rent by the room6.91%5-yr return on cash -4%Rent est. £1,390 (£1,347–£1,434)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,347–£1,434/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £70,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,593–£23,506 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £210,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£16,680
£4,766
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,736
-£1,736
Year 2
£17,180
£4,909
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,379
-£3,115
Year 3
£17,696
£5,056
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,010
-£4,125
Year 4
£18,227
£5,208
£13,650
£0
£0
-£631
-£4,756
Year 5
£18,773
£5,364
£13,650
£0
£0
-£241
-£4,997
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£15,476
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£301,414
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
60066 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 6 unknown
Legal & planning
LeaseholdFreeholdTenure & planningFreehold
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable70% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 70% (137 decisions)
•NOTE: council HMO concentration policy not curated — the modal English policy (10% within 100m) is shown as an indication, not this council's adopted threshold
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingC
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
▼
ABCDEFG
Current rating
Address-matched (ground truth)
Band C
MEES 2030 compliance
C required for new tenancies
PASS
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsCADW register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Sale price historythis address, HM Land RegistryPrice-Paid Data
Asking vs last sale
£280,000 in 2026 → £280,000 asking
0.0%in 0y
2026£280,000+47.4% in 11y
2015£190,000+2.7% in 10y
2005£185,000+158.4% in 4y
2001£71,600—
HM Land Registry · Price-Paid Data (Open Government Licence). Growth percentages are nominal — not adjusted for inflation or local market movement.
Strategy matrix
Compare 7 strategies side-by-side · best shown with ⭐
⭐Rent by the room wins — +£335/mo · £334/mo ahead of Council lease (after room-conversion)
Strategy
Return before costson price
Monthly profit
Cash needed
5y Return on your cashon cash
Risk
Feasibility
Rent it out
5.96%
-£198
£112,090
-4.5%
Low
Feasible
Housing-benefit rent
2.56%
-£882
£112,090
-43.8%
Med
Feasible
Council lease
5.96%
+£1
£112,090
3.1%
Low
Feasible
Refurb & refinance
5.96%
-£198
£132,806
-3.8%
Med
Feasible
Short-stay let / Airbnb
5.95%
-£573
£112,090
-28.5%
High
Feasible
Buy, improve & sell
0.00%
-£182
£323,606
4%
Med
Feasible
⭐ Rent by the room
4.93% *
+£335
£105,950
—
—
Feasible
* Rent by the room shows net yield on cost for the audited HMO conversion deal (post-conversion, after running costs) — not gross like the other rows. Its 5-yr ROI reads “—” because the audited deal is a year-one snapshot; the HMO conversion panel below shows the cash-back / payback horizon.
Short-let (SA) context365 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
365 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Swansea · cap £598/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Swansea
LHA monthly cap:
£598
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+800% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Ready to move on this deal?
Generates an offer pack with your numbers & sources — take it to the agent.
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impactLocal lettings demanddays-to-let · supply now · trend
+£88/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
10.29% Return before costs on price converted vs 5.96% as-is
£280k → 5-bed HMO @ ~£486/room: £2,266 pcm gross, ~£1,297 pcm net (4.9% net on £316k all-in incl. ~£16k works); GDV ~£173k → refinance releases ~£-80k (~£186k left in)
high confidence
Unlocks ~£12,904/yr extra rent
3 → 5 lettable rooms · ~5.7% gross at max
Potential, not guaranteed (subject to planning + regs). Estimate from the EPC certificate — verify room sizes against the floorplan before offering.
How we calculated this
floorplan shows 6 habitable rooms (3 beds + 3 reception(s)) in 145 m²; convert 2 spare room(s) to bedrooms, keeping one reception as the lounge → up to 5 lettable rooms; sized to Swansea adopted standard (6.5/10.2 m²; Swansea HMO Licensing Policy 2020 App.A Amenity Standards); adds ~£1,075/mo; loft conversion may add 1-2 further rooms (subject to head height/planning — not counted); HMO licence: mandatory in Wales only for 3-storey 5+ person HMOs; additional-licensing schemes are common — confirm with the council. Rent Smart Wales registration required; Wales: planning permission required for HMO change of use (no C3→C4 permitted development); Article 4 — planning permission needed
Pro members see the floorplan with every convertible room outlined in green. Verify room sizes before offering.
3 → 5 bed HMO+2 singles4.93% net on cost3.79% cash-on-cashuplift 3.37% → 5.68%
💷 Refinance could release ~-£80,268
Wales: planning required for HMO use
✓Sized to Swansea's adopted HMO standards
Projections use documented assumptions (local room rates, typical conversion costs, 75% LTV at 5.5%, indicative regional valuation yields) and each council’s published HMO standards. Not financial advice. Verify room sizes, licensing and planning with the council and a surveyor before purchase.
Room mix (3 lettable rooms)
1× Double @ £534/mo1× Single @ £476/mo1× En-suite @ £603/mo
≈ £1,613/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£169
Return before costson price5.96%
Cash needed£81,898
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£81
Return before costson price10.29%
Cash needed£97,898
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit+£88
+2 rooms (5 total)
Monthly profit+£103
Return before costson price11.52%
Cash needed£117,898
Extra rent+£1,075/mo
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£48,000
Range: £42,000 – £56,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
Planning approval likelihood
Likely approvable · 70% likely
low confidence
Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
no known HMOs within 100m (below threshold)
local council HMO approval rate 70% (137 decisions)
≈0.0% within 100 m vs 10% policy
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Council HMO policy not curated — assessed against a 10% / 100 m default; a low/absent count reflects register coverage, not zero nearby HMOs.
Schools & catchment4 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first4 of 5
Brynmill Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 0BU
Not rated
Dylan Thomas Community School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 0FR
Not rated
Maes Derw
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 0FH
Not rated
Y.G.G. Bryn-Y-Mor
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA2 0BP
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£2,378/yr kept
Annual gross rent£16,680
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£2,378
Exit costs
-£4,997 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£309,143
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£29,143
Sale costs (~2.5%)£7,729
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£4,997
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£112,090cash needed
Purchase price£280,000
Deposit (25%)£70,000
Stamp duty+4% higher-rate surcharge£17,950
Refurb£16,790
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage fees£5,200
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£112,090
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
A well-proportioned and inviting three bedroom mid-terraced property ideally situated on Pantygwydr in the sought-after Uplands area of Swansea. This traditional home offers comfortable family accommodation with original features throughout. It is close to Singleton & Brynmill park, two primary schools, local shops, transport links and the vibrant Uplands community.
On the ground floor, the property features two reception rooms, ideal for both formal living and everyday fami…
6.91%Rent by the room strategy — market rent unverified, verify locally.
5.96% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£198/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Energy rating C — Min. energy standard 2030 compliant.
Price
£280K
Return before costs (best)
6.91%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
3
1 bath
Energy rating
C
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,347–£1,434/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £70,000
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£12,593–£23,506 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,400 legal + £750 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £210,000 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Running costs
Management10%
0%20%
Typical BTL agency rate
Void weeks
Typical voids for BTL
Insurance (£/mo)
Typical BTL building+landlord cover for £200K–£400K
Short-let (SA) context365 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
365 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Swansea · cap £598/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Swansea
LHA monthly cap:
£598
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+800% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£16,680
£4,766
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,736
-£1,736
Year 2
£17,180
£4,909
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,379
-£3,115
Year 3
£17,696
£5,056
£13,650
£0
£0
-£1,010
-£4,125
Year 4
£18,227
£5,208
£13,650
£0
£0
-£631
-£4,756
Year 5
£18,773
£5,364
£13,650
£0
£0
-£241
-£4,997
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,613
Gross Rent by the room yield6.91%
What we verified
12 total
6006
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCEnergy efficiency ratingC
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 10/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£2,730
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£4,997
Acquisition costs
£112K
25% deposit£70,000
Stamp duty£17,950
Refurb£16,790
Legal + survey£2,150
Mortgage + broker£5,200
Cash needed£112,090
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
A well-proportioned and inviting three bedroom mid-terraced property ideally situated on Pantygwydr in the sought-after Uplands area of Swansea. This traditional home offers comfortable family accommodation with original features throughout. It is close to Singleton & Brynmill park, two primary schools, local shops, transport links and the vibrant Uplands community.
On the ground floor, the property features two reception rooms, ideal for both formal living and everyday fami…