-8.3% 5y IRR — capital outlay disproportionate to returns
No rent comparables — estimate is a rule-of-thumb fallback, not market data. Verify the rent locally before offering.
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
−£1K/mo
You top up £1K/mo
Price vs market
Above comparable sales
+71% vs 12 sold
Return · IRR
-8.3%/yr
Loses money over 5 years
Cash to get in
£277K
Deposit + fees + refurb
Price £695KReturn before costson price · Rent by the room3.83%5-yr return on cash -29%Rent est. £1,971 (£1,434–£2,709)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,434–£2,709/mo · n=10
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £173,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£16,215–£30,268 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £521,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Cladding safety certificateNot stated on the listingHeritageNot stated on the listing
Heritage& planning constraintsCADW register
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
-£384/mo cash flow vs Rent it out if converted to Rent by the room
4.14% Return before costs on price converted vs 3.40% as-is
Room mix (4 lettable rooms)
4× Double @ £555/mo
≈ £2,218/mo gross room income
As-is Rent it out
Monthly profit-£1,318
Return before costson price3.40%
Cash needed£185,648
If converted to Rent by the room
Monthly profit-£1,702
Return before costson price4.14%
Cash needed£201,648
Δ vs Rent it outMonthly profit-£384
Show conversion detail
Conversion cost estimate
£22,000
Range: £16,000 – £30,000
Fire safety, plumbing, partitioning, licensing.
Rates as of Apr 2026
£66,690–£124,680full refurb + room split
What's in this cost
Kitchen£8,640–£17,280
3 × bathroom£17,100–£31,350
Rewire£4,680–£8,190
Replumb£3,510–£7,020
Windows£11,700–£21,060
Paint + decor£8,190–£15,210
Flooring£12,870–£24,570
Based on 30 HMO comps within 1.5 km
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 37.1%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & area intelligence
Transport 10 / 100
Loading map…
Transport score10 / 100
On the map
Registered HMOs
Approved HMO conversions
Pending HMO applications
Schools & catchment2 schools nearby
Nearby schoolsOfsted-rated, nearest first2 of 5
Newton Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA3 4UE
Not rated
Oystermouth Primary School
Not applicable · Welsh establishment · SA3 4BE
Not rated
Ofsted · postcode-area match. Catchment areas vary year to year — verify with the local council before relying for school admissions.
Tax treatment
-£17,772/yr kept
Annual gross rent£23,652
Section 24 credit£0
Annual tax due£0
Post-tax Monthly profitannual-£17,772
Exit costs
-£79,052 after CGT
Projected sale price (5y · 2%/yr growth)£767,336
Capital gain (pre-CGT)£72,336
Sale costs (~2.5%)£19,183
CGT due (Ltd Co 25%)£0
No personal CGT — the gain is taxed at the company level (corporation tax) when the SPV disposes of the property.
Net 5y Monthly profitafter CGT-£79,052
Rates as of Oct 2024
Acquisition costs
£276,520cash needed
Purchase price£695,000
Deposit (25%)£173,750
Stamp duty+4% higher-rate surcharge£66,825
Refurb£21,620
Legal + survey£2,900
Mortgage fees£11,425
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£276,520
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
A stylish detached four bedroom property situated in a quiet cul de sac location which is about 2 miles from Mumbles Village and a lovely walk through Bishops Wood to Caswell Bay. The property bult approximately 5 years has a NHBC guarantee and has gas central heating with high performance radiators and integrated sprinkler system. The light and well-proportioned accommodation comprises a reception hall with cloaks w/c off, formal lounge to the front and spacious fitted kitch…
3.40% Return before costs — around the area average for this property type.
Monthly profit −£1,481/mo at the default 25% deposit @ 5.5% — open the calculator to stress-test.
Price
£695K
71% above sold comps
Return before costs (best)
3.83%
Rent by the room
Bedrooms
4
3 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,434–£2,709/mo · n=10
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £173,750
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£16,215–£30,268 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Standard house — £1,900 legal + £1,000 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £521,250 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Short-let (SA) context406 active short-lets nearby
Short-let market context
Local nightly-rate and occupancy benchmarks for this postcode.
406 active short-let listings in this postcode
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Swansea · cap £818/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Swansea
LHA monthly cap:
£818
Scheme type:
leasing
Premium:
+800% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£23,652
£6,633
£33,881
£0
£0
-£16,863
-£16,863
Year 2
£24,362
£6,832
£33,881
£0
£0
-£16,352
-£33,215
Year 3
£25,092
£7,037
£33,881
£0
£0
-£15,826
-£49,041
Year 4
£25,845
£7,248
£33,881
£0
£0
-£15,284
-£64,325
Year 5
£26,621
£7,466
£33,881
£0
£0
-£14,727
-£79,052
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside—▾
Required
Rooms (3+)4 bd
Conversion£34,000
If converted
Gross / mo£2,218
Gross Rent by the room yield3.83%
What we verified
12 total
5007
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureTenure typeFreehold
HeritageListed building / conservation areaNot stated on the listing
Building condition3▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 37.1%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 10/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£6,776
Annual rental tax£0
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total-£79,052
Acquisition costs
£277K
25% deposit£173,750
Stamp duty£66,825
Refurb£21,620
Legal + survey£2,900
Mortgage + broker£11,425
Cash needed£276,520
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
A stylish detached four bedroom property situated in a quiet cul de sac location which is about 2 miles from Mumbles Village and a lovely walk through Bishops Wood to Caswell Bay. The property bult approximately 5 years has a NHBC guarantee and has gas central heating with high performance radiators and integrated sprinkler system. The light and well-proportioned accommodation comprises a reception hall with cloaks w/c off, formal lounge to the front and spacious fitted kitch…