Monthly profit +£348/mo from completion — the no.1 reason to invest
12.39% return before costs — above-market
12.0% Rent by the room return before costs (net 5.53% after CapEx + bills) — conversion play
Priced below market -27% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo) — instant equity
Why to be cautious
EPC band not stated — verify the certificate before offering (2030 MEES minimum is band C).
Property research tool — not a regulated financial service. Numbers are point-in-time estimates; how we decide →
Monthly cashflow
+£348/mo
Pays you every month, net of costs
Price vs market
Below market value
-27% vs 12 sold · interior unseen
Return · IRR
5.9%/yr
Modest annualised return
Cash left in
£26K
Stays in after refinancing at value
Price £190KCash to buy £79KReturn before costson price12.39%5-yr return on cash 36%Rent est. £1,962 (£1,916–£2,009)
How we define each return:On price — gross yield = annual rent ÷ purchase price.On cost — net yield ÷ total project cost (price + refurb + fees).On cash — cash-on-cash & ROI ÷ the actual cash you put in (deposit + costs).
Listing seen …
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,916–£2,009/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £47,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £142,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£23,544
£8,227
£9,263
£0
£1,150
£4,904
£4,904
Year 2
£24,250
£8,474
£9,263
£0
£1,238
£5,276
£10,180
Year 3
£24,978
£8,728
£9,263
£0
£1,328
£5,659
£15,840
Year 4
£25,727
£8,990
£9,263
£0
£1,420
£6,055
£21,894
Year 5
£26,499
£9,260
£9,263
£0
£1,516
£6,461
£28,355
Year 5 disposal
Disposal gain (gross)-£13,380
CGT£0
Net Disposal proceeds£204,531
What we verified
What we verified
12 total · click to expand
50075 ok · 0 caution · 0 fail · 7 unknown
Legal & planning
Leasehold125 yrTenure & planning125 yr
Legal & planning
2 checks
TenureUnknown
Lease lengthUnknown
Council planning restrictionUnknown
Council planning restrictionRent by the room conversion gatePlanning data
Conversion approvability
Per-property planning assessment
Likely approvable71% likely
Confidence: low
•Article 4 direction applies — planning permission required for C3->C4 HMO
•no known HMOs within 40m (below threshold)
•local council HMO approval rate 71% (187 decisions)
•this council refuses HMOs that would sandwich a family home between two HMOs — check both adjoining properties
•NO HMO concentration data for this council: neither a licensed register nor granted change-of-use decisions nearby. This is ABSENCE OF DATA, not absence of HMOs — verify with the council before relying on it
Rent by the room concentration nearby
≈0.0% within 40 m vs 10% policy
Rent by the room restriction
C3 to C4 conversion
Unknown
Confidence
low
Source
No LPA data for this prefix
Rates as of May 2026
Building condition
Energy ratingUnknown
EPC& 2030 deadlineEPC register
EPC band not available in the listing. The 2030 MEES minimum is band C — verify the certificate before offering.
EPC band from listing · verify certificate before exchanging
We don't ingest the NHLE bulk register, so we can't flag listed-building or conservation-area status for this address from our data alone. Use the official registry to verify before exchanging.
Total cash neededdeposit + costs (loan covers the rest)£79,261
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
About this propertydescription · rightmove
Description& agent copyRightmove
SUMMARY
Fox & Sons as sole selling agents are delighted to offer for sale this character three bedroom apartment in this Grade II listed building. Portland Terrace is situated within Southampton City Centre with its vast array of shopping, leisure and dining facilities.
DESCRIPTION
Fox and sons have pleasure in offering for sale this three bedroom lower ground floor apartment in Portland Terrace a beautiful historic grade 2 listed building built in C.1835 situated in the he…
Priced below market -27% vs 12 nearby sold (last 12 mo)
Monthly profit+£348/mo at 25% deposit @ 5.5%
Stress Rent-covers-mortgage check PASS at 6.5% rate stress
12.39% Return before costs — above-market
12.0% Rent by the roomReturn before costs — conversion play
Price
£190K
27% below sold comps
Return before costs
12.39%
est rent £1,962/mo6 comps within 1 kmRange £1,916–£2,009/mo (Q1–Q3)
Bedrooms
3
2 bath
Energy rating
—
Energy rating
Run the numbers
Each tab prefills
What-if calculator
Edit any input — outputs recalc liveRates as of 20 May 2026
Buy-to-Let. Standard rental on an Assured Shorthold Tenancy. Single household, market rent, paid monthly direct to landlord (or via agent). (hover any strategy tab for pros + cons)
Offer (£)
Monthly rent (£)
Local comp range: £1,916–£2,009/mo · n=6
Financing
DepositYour cash in — the rest is the mortgage25% · £47,500
5%100% (cash buy)
Standard 75% LTV for BTL
Mortgage rate5y fixed5.8%
3.0%9.0%
5-year fixed at 75% LTV — 5.75% (as of 2026-05-20).
Mortgage term (years)
Stress rate6.5%
5.0%9.0%
BoE base + 2pp stress (6.5%)
Acquisition costs
Refurb (£)
Per-property refurb estimate from the element rate-card model (£11,333–£21,155 range), VAT-inclusive
Legal + survey (£)
Leasehold flat — £1,500 legal + £500 survey
Mortgage fees (£)
2% product fee on £142,500 loan + £1,000 booking fee
Housing-benefit (LHA) scheme detailBRMA Southampton · cap £1,072/mo
Housing-benefit rent scheme detail
Per-BRMA Local Housing Allowance + per-LA council leasing scheme.
Rental Market Area (BRMA):
Southampton
LHA monthly cap:
£1,072
Scheme type:
PSL
Premium:
+800% premium over LHA cap
Typical lease:
0 years lease
Management:
management covered by council
Year-by-year Monthly profit (5-yr horizon)
Net Monthly profit after tax. Rent + costs compound at their growth rates; mortgage principal amortises year-by-year for repayment loans.
Mortgage paydownRent profitbefore price growth
Full year-by-year breakdown
Year
Gross Rent
Op Costs
Mortgage
Equity Built
Tax
Net
Cumulative
Year 1
£23,544
£8,227
£9,263
£0
£1,150
£4,904
£4,904
Year 2
£24,250
£8,474
£9,263
£0
£1,238
£5,276
£10,180
Year 3
£24,978
£8,728
£9,263
£0
£1,328
£5,659
£15,840
Year 4
£25,727
£8,990
£9,263
£0
£1,420
£6,055
£21,894
Year 5
£26,499
£9,260
£9,263
£0
£1,516
£6,461
£28,355
Rent by the roomupside
Tap to expand
Rent by the room conversion upside+24.5 pp▾
Required
Rooms (3+)3 bd
Conversion£26,000
If converted
Gross / mo£1,899
Gross Rent by the room yield11.99%
What we verified
13 total
6016
Legal & planning4▾
Article 4HMO restriction lookupUnknown
Rent by the room licensingMandatory if 5+ unrelatedCheck LPA
TenureLeasehold years remaining125 yr
HeritageListed building / conservation areaListed
Building condition4▾
EPCPostcode estimate — check the registerNot stated on the listing
EWS1External wall safety (cladding)Not stated on the listing
Refurb costBased on beds + baths + sqftEstimate available
Service chargeReduces net yield£1,977.54/yr
Area3▾
Crimepolice.uk · monthlyChecking…
SchoolsGIAS · OfstedChecking…
FloodEA Flood Map · England onlyChecking…
Investor profile2▾
Tenant profileBeds + postcode heuristicFamily / Rent by the room
Rent by the room feasibilityMin 3 beds for C4 routeFeasible
Comparables
sold within 0.5 mi
Wide · CV 22.5%Med confidence
Loading nearby sold…
Location & transport
Score 100/100
Loading map…
PropertySchoolsUniversitiesStationsArticle 4
Transport detail not loaded for this property.
Tax & exit
Ltd Co
Tax bandLtd Co 25%
Mortgage-interest tax rule credit£1,853
Annual rental tax£978
CGT yr 5£0 · company level
5y net total£28,355
Acquisition costs
£79K
25% deposit£47,500
Stamp duty£10,800
Refurb£15,111
Legal + survey£2,000
Mortgage + broker£3,850
Cash needed£79,261
Green = verified data. Amber = market typical. Red = our estimate — verify before offering.
Make an offer
Pro analysis — outcome range, stress tests & portfolio impact
Your notes
Auto-saves
Description& agent copyRightmove
SUMMARY
Fox & Sons as sole selling agents are delighted to offer for sale this character three bedroom apartment in this Grade II listed building. Portland Terrace is situated within Southampton City Centre with its vast array of shopping, leisure and dining facilities.
DESCRIPTION
Fox and sons have pleasure in offering for sale this three bedroom lower ground floor apartment in Portland Terrace a beautiful historic grade 2 listed building built in C.1835 situated in the he…